OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 14:13

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 15 Dec 2017, 02:40 
Super User

Blade: Diode V ST
FH: V>22 Max
BH: Curl P1V 1.0
As promised in my other thread, I went ahead and spent a bit of time putting together a quick comparison of the two rubbers. Both rubbers were tested on a JSH blade in a 0.3-0.6 thickness unless stated otherwise. All the rankings were for the LP rubber family, i.e. the speed of 10 – would be the fastest LP available, etc. Sorry it's a bit wordy but I hope helps someone with their decision. I am not an expert so YMMV.

Speed (P1r > P4)
This one is easy and obvious to all: P1r is MUCH faster than the P4. The P4 feels really dead and slow at first. Speed-wise I would rate: P1r – 8/10, P4 – 4/10.

Spin (P4 > P1r)
You often read that the P1r is the “spinniest thing eva” - because Joo does x-y-z. Well, Joo is not human… Moving on. Both are spinny, but for me personally & based on the feedback received, I would rate P1r – 8/10 and P4 – 10/10 in the spin department. When I played the P4, the feedback was that the spin on chops was insane. It’s so spinny that I would say 98% of players out there would push your second chop. When choosing this rubber, make sure this is the outcome you want :)

To be fair I did try the P1r on the VKM and I did feel a tad more spin on the chops, maybe 8.5/10. I didn’t like my FH loop feel on it so it was a no-go for me. YMMV.

Feel/Control (P4 > P1r)