OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 04:48

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 01 Dec 2012, 01:52 

Hi, everybody. I've just started using Penguin (Haifu), short pimple for about 1 month now, and I just don't know how to use it correctly. Could you tell me how to use it? Also, I've just started using pimples (both short and long pimples) for only 2 months now, I've never used them before.
Thank you very much for you help. :)

PostPosted: 03 Dec 2012, 04:35 
OOAK Super User
OOAK Super User

Blade: Butterfly Timo Boll OFF
FH: Friendship 802-40 2.4mm
BH: Dawei388C-1 Medium pip ox
Short Pimple rubbers can be much fun. They do not feel the spin of the in-coming ball as much as smooth rubbers. This gives some players more control, depending on the type of swing. Short pimple rubbers are beneficial with a shorter, more compact swing, keeping your elbow near your body. The short pimple (SP) rubbers are not designed for BIG topspin swings. Usually SP rubbers are FAST, so you can still hit fast with a compact stroke.

SP players really can feel and enjoy their ability to hit well against balls with heavy topspin. A smooth rubber usually can't take the ball as early off the bounce because smooth rubbers give a higher throw upon impact and it is hard to keep these types of shots on the table.