OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 12:06

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 25 Oct 2011, 21:03 

Location: Melbourne (mid Nov-late Feb, ~July), Brisbane otherwise
Hi everyone, first time posting here.

I'm in a mild dilemma at the moment. Basically, I've only ever played recreationally - started when I was in year 7 and played through to the end of year 8, at which point, I moved schools and didn't really have as great an opportunity to play as often as I did. I think you could probably count the number of times I had a hit from year 9 to year 12 on one hand.

So now that I'm in first year uni, my timetable is mildly better and I don't have such a great imperative to do well - as such, I've picked up the bat again and have played semi regularly this year. Now, while I have the fortune of being friends with two ex (Australian) national reps who are my age, I don't get to play with them overly often, and apart from about 4-5 people who I play regularly (one in particular), I don't really have *access* to many others I can play. I feel like this would be less of an issue if these 4-5 people didn't play very tennis inspired basement styled tt. It'd be ok if they were willing to experiment and bring in new shots once in a while, but they don't. The one I play with regularly, I taught to serve, loop and block to a basic degree, but then, my teaching is limited by my ability and lack of experience.