OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 07:45

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 01 Dec 2014, 03:32 

I've looked and haven't found anything quite on this topic, but if I've missed something and it exists, please merge or move the thread as appropriate. Thanks!

I'm new to TT. I'd played what you could call "ping pong" all my life, but in the last three years, not more than about 20 hours combined. I'm reasonably athletic and coordinated. I'm also a golf instructor and I train other golf instructors, too, so I appreciate and understand the value of good instruction. I feel I would be a good student; I can do drills, etc.

I have a home table tennis top that sits on top of my 9' Olhausen pool table (I won't be replacing the pool table any time soon, sorry!), but will mostly play downtown at my indoor golf academy (http://thegolfevolution.com/metro/) where we've had a table for the past few years (a Stiga fold-up - it can fold up one side for solo practice).

I'd like to get better. A friend helped me choose my "beginner paddle" (in my signature). We have a TT club here (http://eriettc.com/) but, when I asked about instruction, I was told by the president:

Quote:
I have done some coaching, but between running the club and playing, that really has been neglected. Starting about a month ago we have a Chinese woman at the club who claims to have been a pro-level coach in China. This is quite a strong claim and she seems pretty good, but beyond that I'm not sure what to do with her. She will only play for money, and then no match play, just coaching. I'm sure she would welcome any opportunity.