OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 18:00

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 13 May 2017, 10:09 
Super User

Blade: custom bent handle
FH: mercury
BH: nik g1
Ive been helping a few older guys (like me) to improve even though I am no expert.
Thanks ttedge.com for giving me the tools to be helpful!!
I was wondering how the coaches here teach to be relaxed in forehand, backhand, serves etc etc.
This seems such a key to develop racket head speed.
We do some exercises based on ttedge.com but this does not easily transfer to matches.
I was thinking for myself after each point to wave my wrist to get the relaxation feeling.
Are there any tips on this topic or is it just endless repetition????

Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 13 May 2017, 11:12 
Goes to 11
Goes to 11

Apparently, relaxation comes from good technique, not the other way around, according to Brett. It's true, it's been working for me.

Iskandar

PostPosted: 14 May 2017, 11:58 

One method is to focus on being 'graceful'. They usually slow down, become less robotic and more elastic when that word is used. Everything should be 'graceful', as though they are being judged on the beauty of their form, not just the results.

Individual students will need different approaches to teaching. Some need metaphors and abstractions, some need more realism and details.

PostPosted: 15 May 2017, 08:03 
Ping Pong Diplomat
Ping Pong Diplomat

Blade: Victas KMO
FH: Yasaka Rising Dragon
BH: Cloud and Fog III