OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 18:04

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 29 Sep 2018, 07:43 

Blade: DDCS
FH: Yasaka Mark V Black 1.8
BH: TSP SSPC2 Red 1.3
Hi there :)

I'm new to table tennis and it would be great if you helped me.

From viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2349:
Quote:
AVOID ANTISPIN

Could you please clarify that rule (in more details) for curious TT beginners:
    1. where does that stereotype (or is it?) of the "right" equipment come from?
    2. whether there are any pros of using anti (and list all pros in case applicable);
    3. list all those cons and effects breaking the rule may cause;

Note: I'd like to know about my setup as much as possible, but I'll raise other topics if that's more suitable,
because other rules I broke as well (DEF blade, 2.0mm rubber thickness). Please suggest me corresponding topics
as I'm new to your forum, and could not find the best place for a such post (not sure about the volume of info from replies)

Thanks,

Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 29 Sep 2018, 09:53 
Dr. Chop-Blogger
Dr. Chop-Blogger

Blade: Butterfly Defense Alpha
FH: H3 Neo
BH: Cloud & Fog III OX
These rules (that you are 'violating') are not hard rules - and no one is going to arrest you for breaking them. It's your hobby, go wild.

You can do fine with DEF blade and 2.0 sponge (in fact they kind of cancel each other) - it's more like "don't get a 'speed demon' setup" which will allow for occasional very satisfying fast un-returnable smash, but typically would stunt your progress. Even fast setup is OK in some cases - if you have plenty of coaching, for instance, (most beginners don't).