OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 20:30

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 17 Feb 2013, 23:16 

Hellow to all !!!

Havent been here for a Long Long time.

Just wanna ask the experts here about being a defensive player I am new to this type of style.
My main concern is this...

What to do if a player is putting the ball short after doing a counter chop. I tried watching Joo and other professional defensive players but at their level its hard to compare its so different from what is happening in my game.

what happens
1. top spin
2. counter chop
3. short ball return (because my opponent cant handle the tremendous under spin)
4. normal chop (pimple)
5. top spin
6. counter chop
repeat 3 and so forth

any additional advice would be greatly appreciated thanks :D

Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2013, 00:21 
Joo Too
Joo Too

Blade: BTY Joo Se Hyuk ST
FH: DHS Hurricane 3-50 soft R
BH: TSP P1-R 1,5 B
Assuming the normal chop = a push, you can push that ball to a place where the attacker has to move and will not be able to make a full powered shot. You can attack that resulting ball of the attacker with a loop drive, because there will not be much spin on the ball. You can also start the defensive rally again like you already described.

PostPosted: 19 Feb 2013, 22:54 

Lorre wrote:
Assuming the normal chop = a push, you can push that ball to a place where the attacker has to move and will not be able to make a full powered shot. You can attack that resulting ball of the attacker with a loop drive, because there will not be much spin on the ball. You can also start the defensive rally again like you already described.