OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 16:49

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post subject: Dynamic Harmony
PostPosted: 13 Mar 2009, 21:33 

Dynamic Harmony is a concept I created in 1989, and the first time it has been spoken publically is in my first training video, “Textbook Table Tennis”. It was such a fantastic concept that I shout my mouth for 20 years because I didn’t want any of my peers to steal it and make it their own.

I have to be honest in saying it was created out of frustration. It was partly formed during my participation in Tae kwon do as a kid before I started playing table tennis. Everything that was explained had a system with regards to the body, the punch or kick, and your opponent. That system made Tae Kwon Do simple and fun.

Once I started playing table tennis I found it difficult to understand exactly what the coaches was trying to say when he was pinpointing an area of improvement. So I used the concepts from Tae kwon Do and the first one was how the body takes action. For the second one I compared the kick or punch, to my stroke. Then I substituted the opponent for the ball.

Bang!! Dynamic Harmony was created, and it helped me create nearly perfect strokes, but more than that I created a perfect concept. I created a stroke system and I could identify the major and minor components. This article is about the major components that make up “Dynamic Harmony”. The first 2 components you can control, and the last one you can’t .

The 1st Component – The Stroke