OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
Live Table Tennis Videos Table Tennis News Live OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 24 Nov 2017, 12:53

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 26 May 2010, 10:26 

I am new at playing Short pip Chinese pen-hold and I seem to have trouble deciding weather to flick, push or roll incoming serves. So far I am fine when I am just doing forehand training or backhand training. But I still have a hard time deciding what to do when returning serves :(. Most balls seem like they are high enough to flat hit,but I tend to either over shot the table or hit the ball into the net ;( . I heard that if the ball has side spin it should be a give away to flat hit the ball. But what do I do to serves that are low and have side spin? In general what is the best way to return low served balls? Is it still necessary to push a heavy backspin ball or can that ball be rolled as well?

My next question is now pertaining to my service :P . When I was watching videos of short pip pen-holders like He Zhi Wen, he seems to serve really long and fast serves. I tried that, but I usually get my ball basted past me (-.-). So I usually try to serve medium to long low back spin and top spin serves with my pips on my forehand and sometimes using my my inverted bh then switching back to my pips for the 3rd ball attack. This kind of serving works well on low level players but not too much on people better than me. When I play them I seem to never get a good position to get a strong 3rd ball attack since they either blast my ball past me, or return the ball really low forcing me to rush my attack which usually makes me over shot the table. What can a short pip pen-holder do on a serve to set themselves up for a attack?

Any suggestions is fine thanks