OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 18:37

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 14 Jul 2016, 04:41 

Hi everyone, can I get some advice and direction on blade selection and rubbers? I'm a novice, but a quick learner, 2-3 hours daily, and felt like I've outgrown our office Killerspin lower premade rackets. When I started using my club's loaners, it was a huge difference, and felt my abilities greatly increased. I need to get my own racket now.

Style: attacking, shakehand
Budget: prefer around $125USD, can spend a little more for performance/price ratio

most likely will order from PaddlePalace

I'm looking mostly at allround category rackets, reason is control is more important than speed at this stage. I can generate speed with my mechanics and physiology to help offset some of the OFF racket advantage I'm reasoning.

Mostly name recognition $50-$75, but open to others:

Butterfly
Korbel
Primorac - wood
Timo Boll Allround

Stiga
Allround Evolution
Allround Classic Carbon
Clipper Classic

Cornilleau
Gatien Crown ALL+ (curious about this one)

Yasaka
Ma Lin Soft Carbon

DHS
PG7
PG8

RUBBER

My head spins at all the selections and completely lost. Help! I was told I loop a lot and heavy top spin shots.

What is this cheap "Chinese rubber" I've seen mentioned that provides very good price to high performance? There has to be a downside right? Product name?

Thank you for your help.

PostPosted: 14 Jul 2016, 15:30 
OOAK Super User
OOAK Super User

Blade: Butterfly Timo Boll OFF
FH: Friendship 802-40 2.4mm
BH: Dawei388C-1 Medium pip ox
Hi ZeroZero!

At your advancing level, you might want to go with a medium speed paddle that has high spin.