OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 21:29

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 12 May 2017, 01:13 

Blade: Yasaka Sweden Extra
FH: DHS Neo Skyline 2 2.15mm
BH: Donic Acuda S3 max
Reading through many of the threads and posts here where advice is asked for and given to beginners and improvers about what blade to buy, many are of the opinion that they/we should not be buying anything but all-wood, allround blades - no carbon layers etc etc. As an improving player myself I'm inclined to take the advice offered here by players with much more experience than me, and avoiding blades which are too fast seems sensible.

However, there seem to be blades out there which are marketed, if not to absolute beginners, then certainly to modest club/league players which are composite blades. I'm thinking of the Stiga Allround Classic Carbon, Waldner Senso Carbon, Waldner Senso Diablo (glassfibre) to name three I have pondered over. I'm sure there are many others. Are the composite layers in these types of blades thinner to reduce speed/stiffness?

Apologies if there's a thread for this conversation already.

Yasaka Sweden Extra FH: DHS Skyline Neo 2 2.15mm BH: Donic Acuda S3 max
Donic Waldner Exclusive AR+ Palio Hidden Dragon 2.2 x 2

PostPosted: 12 May 2017, 02:09 
Goes to 11
Goes to 11