OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 18:03

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 14 Jul 2016, 06:42 

I'm a novice and have been using our office premade rackets and using loaners at the club. It's time that I finally get my own. What I understand so far is to get a "slow" racket with "fast" rubbers would benefit me more at my current level. So I'm looking at Korbel and Timo Boll allround category range.

One of the loaners I used had 1.7 rubber on both sides and I loved the control and feel on it. The loaners I usually use has a 2.0 or 2.2 which I generate lots of speed and spin with. I want the benefits of both if I can. The thinner would be used for the backhand, and the thicker rubber for the forehand.

What if I move up from the ALL/ALL+ to a slightly faster ALL+/OFF- racket, will the thinner 1.7/1.8 rubber slow it down enough to still give a similar feel of control of an equivalent ALL racket and 2.0 rubber? Your thoughts on this?

I practice/play everyday for 2-3 hours. I tend to be an aggressive hitter and always attacking when I can. A two wing looper as someone described me as.

With all the various rubbers, I'm so confused. Can you recommend some to me that isn't pro-level and expensive? I don't think I will get to use the full benefit of those.

Thanks.

Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 14 Jul 2016, 09:06 
003 Style Master
003 Style Master

Blade: Donic Waldner Senso V1
FH: Donic Baracuda Big Slam
BH: Victas Triple Regular