OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Apr 2024, 13:56

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 29 Jul 2011, 16:41 

Well I have introduced myself in another thread, and now let's start with a little bit of history.. It's ok Haggis, you are safe for now, I haven't started the 'All about Haggis thread yet'...

I started playing the game while I was studying computers at about 19.. They had a table there and I remember buying a Tackiness Drive as my first rubbers. I remember a friend telling me that either you had the skill in table-tennis or you didn't. I disagreed while he was beating me, but after a few months i was creaming him.

After a few years of constant improvement I had a chance encounter with a friend i made but lost contact with for a few years. Only to find out that we both played table tennis (Haggis).. From there we kept in close contact and eventually both received some coaching by the same coach. We played for a while until we got up to A grade level and occasionally a stint in Super-League reserves, and then I decide to retire.

I stopped playing for about 10 years and only started again a year ago. Straight back in A grade (over 35s) and currently sitting on 16-3. I have set a few goals for myself over the next 12 months.

1) Improve Return of Serves.
2) Think harder about what the opposition likes (and doesn't like).
3) Develop some new serves from new positions.

4) Aim for a state ranking in over 40's and try to make veterans teams.

Will keep you updated. I have a couple of videos that I will upload from State League competition a couple of months ago.. Have footage of our last game in a best of 5 match..

More to come....

Spare 2 - Tamca Gergely - Focus III 755-2