OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 18:44

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 705 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 47  Next
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2013, 05:56 
A.D.D.I.C.T.T.
A.D.D.I.C.T.T.

Blade: Victas Koji Matsushita ZC
FH: BTY Dignics 64 (2.1mm)
BH: Victas P1V (1.5mm)
Hi all,

I'm Duncan. I'm 27 years old and I started playing table tennis just 6 months ago.

General introduction
By trade and qualification I'm a web-based systems developer. By day I work for five schools in the North East of England, developing systems for and generally maintaining our Virtual Learning Environment. By night I run the fishkeeping website http://www.seriouslyfish.com and, as of September 2012, play table tennis.

Introduction to table tennis
When I was... hmm, six years old or so... I played a couple of table tennis sessions after school with a well-known local player-come-coach that I'll call DS from here on in. I don't really remember my time playing, but I do remember thinking that my best friend cheated to win a game, which put me in a massive huff and I never went back to another session. Since then, I haven't picked up a bat.

I've played a lot of sport in my life - primarily football, snooker, cricket and golf. I was playing football 4 evenings/week until I injured my knee. Three operations and two misdiagnoses later, I stopped doing any form of sport (or exercise, for that matter) for nearly 4 years. My knee is still injured - it won't straighten fully, and my hamstring may (or may not be) permanently shortened and damaged.