OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 30 Mar 2024, 16:06

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
PostPosted: 01 Dec 2015, 00:15 
Ninja of the Holy Chtchet

Blade: Koji Matsushita
FH: Tibhar MX-S Max
BH: Yasaka Rising Dragon 2.0
Now that I have a tournament break for a few months, with the exception of the Capital Area league in January or February, I have a chance to do some experimenting. Full disclosure, I've been playing with a double inverted chopping setup for a few months part-time. (hence all of my questions on the board about inverted chopping rubbers etc). I just have never been confident enough in the style to enter a rated competition just yet.

I have found through using my other setups that I chop best with spinny inverted rubbers with some catapult to them especially on the FH. I'm really able to match the spin of my opponents much better, even when compared to tacky thin rubbers like Tack Chop and TSP Triple Spin.

I have also found that I do better with some sponge, 1.8mm or more. So, I've let go of the idea that I will find a thin inverted rubber for this, because (as evidenced by my performance 2 tournaments ago) I really don't have the technique for looping with thin inverted. I couldn't land more than 1 of 10 attacks due to the bottoming out of the rubber. It was terrible like playing hard-bat, and I just don't have the patience for that rubbish. I'm not the most attack-oriented chopper around, but most of my attacks were successful in my last tournament with my thicker rubber.