OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 30 Mar 2024, 16:44

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post subject: Mitch's TT Progression.
PostPosted: 23 Oct 2016, 09:24 

Blade: BTY Hadraw VK
FH: BTY Sriver
BH: BTY Sriver EL
I recently started playing table tennis. I did not take long for playing casually a few days each week to evolve into a desire to train and work towards competing in tournaments.

It began a little over 2 months ago. My wife and I would play for an hour at the gym after working out or taking a yoga class. After three weeks, I started researching how to do the correct forehand and back hand swings. That led to researching how to serve, and then researching a better racket.

Around this time, we found a table tennis gym/club downtown and started going a few days a week. These sessions were two hours long, and included about 30 minutes of coaching in the basics. Mainly hitting multi ball from an old robot, and getting feedback of swing and hitting technique.
the last hour and a half was rotating among players and playing matches. Sometimes we play doubles matches, which is a lot of fun.

We bought a table and have it setup in our living room. At first it was only me that was really interested in getting better at playing table tennis. My wife was content to just play casual games; lately she has become more interested and competitive. She is planning to go to more coaching sessions.

Recently I have purchased some rackets and different rubber. We have been looking for TT shops and have found many that have 20% off sales.