OOAK Table Tennis Forum


A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
Live Table Tennis Videos Table Tennis News Live OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 16 Jul 2018, 06:35


Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 27 Apr 2018, 14:29 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 09 Apr 2018, 10:31
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Blade: Joola chen defender
FH: Rhyzer 43
BH: Rhyzer 43
Is hitting the ball with the handle of the blade illegal?
I was playing some pick up games (non tournament matches) at my local tennis table club. The person I was against had really spinny serves but his serves were all hidden by his body so i couldn't see the contact & watching the flight curve of the ball is just to hard sometimes. I lost the first 2/5 games & on the 3rd game I started returning his serves with the butt of handle which sometimes contacted the meaty portion of my palm but it was never a double hit or intentional.

At first my opponent laughed & thought i looked foolish doing it but when he lost the next 2 games he got upset & wouldn't play the fifth game and said I couldn't do that in a regulated match and he wont play me if I continue to do the illegal move. I told him its just a friendly game and if he wants to play by official rules then serve right, with that said we didn't go to a fifth game.

In the ittf rules, no where does it say that I can't use the handle of the bat to return the ball. Their is a rule that says that you can't intentionally double hit the ball & a rule that states that if the ball hits any part of the body above the wrist its a point lost, for me the ball touched my palm/pinky occasionally but mostly made contact with the wood & was never a double hit.

Would I be flagged by a umpire in a tournament for this? Is what I'm doing just an unspoken rule or tabu?


Top
 Profile  
 


Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 27 Apr 2018, 16:45 
Offline
I am Legend
I am Legend
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 18:21
Posts: 5985
Location: Queensland
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Blade: Nittaku Acoustic
FH: Double Crappiness H8
BH: Donic Bluefire JP03
No. It’s fine.

_________________
Shih Tzu

NEW RUBBER MASS INDEX || OLD RUBBER MASS INDEX


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2012 OOAK Table Tennis Forum. The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group




Don't forget to 'LIKE' our forum on Facebook if you enjoy the content: