OOAK Table Tennis Forum


A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 16 Oct 2018, 08:43


Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 00:07 
Offline
003 Style Master
003 Style Master
User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2011, 20:23
Posts: 2236
Location: South Australia
Has thanked: 258 times
Been thanked: 270 times
Blade: Donic Waldner Senso V1
FH: Joola Rhyzm 425
BH: Donic Baracuda Big Slam
Tonight we had an interesting incident so wondering what the correct call was.

I was the umpire and the server made proper contact with the ball however at the same time hit the table with his bat. The ball correctly went on the opponents side however the servers bat went flying out of his hand and hit me, the umpire, then fell the the floor.

As this was happening the receiver hit the ball into the net. The table did not move at all, nor did the bat bounce across it.

Who wins the point or should a let have been played ?

_________________
Donic Waldner Senso V1,FH Joola Rhyzm 425 2.0mm ,BH Donic Baracuda Big Slam 2.0mm


Top
 Profile  
 


 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 00:15 
Offline
Super User

Joined: 11 May 2013, 18:01
Posts: 555
Location: Podunk Pongville USA MALE
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 16 times
Blade: XVT Balsa Carbon 10mm all
FH: Xiom Sigma Pro 2 2.0
BH: Globe 979 OX
I would say the bat was a legal hit on the umpire.

_________________
Panda Drive / 4H Xiom Sigma Pro 2 2.0 / BH Xiom Omega IV Elite Max / Play right-handed
XVT balsa carbon 10mm / 4H Xiom Sigma Pro 2 2.0 / BH Globe 979 Long Pips OX / Play Left-handed shakehand
Stiga Def Wood / 4H Xiom Sigma Pro 2 2.0 / BH GD CC LP OX .. Play Left-handed
Cpen SOS Wood / 4H 729 802-40 2.0 / BH GD Talon use righthanded shakehand grip
HARDBAT / Shakehand Hock 3 ply / Friendship Dr Evil OX .. Play Right-handed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 00:36 
Offline
Super User
User avatar

Joined: 26 Sep 2015, 07:15
Posts: 532
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 84 times
Blade: Acoustic Carbon Inner ST
FH: Karis M 2.2
BH: Karis M 2.0
IANAU but I think it would be a let because there was a disturbance, and it was outside the control of the receiver:

"2.09 A let
2.09.01 The rally shall be a let

2.09.01.03 if failure to make a good service or a good return or otherwise to comply with the Laws is due to a disturbance outside the control of the player;
2.09.01.04 if play is interrupted by the umpire or assistant umpire.

2.09.02 Play may be interrupted

2.09.02.04 because the conditions of play are disturbed in a way which could affect the outcome of the rally."

_________________
"Once you get past a certain threshold, everyone's problems are the same: fortifying your island and hiding the heat signature from your fusion reactor." –Doctor Impossible


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 02:17 
Offline
Dances with Spammers
Dances with Spammers
User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2008, 00:22
Posts: 1173
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Blade: Darker Speed 90 Jpen
FH: Dawei Inspirit Quattro UL
hangdog wrote:
IANAU but I think it would be a let because there was a disturbance, and it was outside the control of the receiver:

"2.09 A let
2.09.01 The rally shall be a let

2.09.01.03 if failure to make a good service or a good return or otherwise to comply with the Laws is due to a disturbance outside the control of the player;
2.09.01.04 if play is interrupted by the umpire or assistant umpire.

2.09.02 Play may be interrupted

2.09.02.04 because the conditions of play are disturbed in a way which could affect the outcome of the rally."


I think I would be inclined to agree with this.

_________________
1-ply Hinoki Club
Violin/Acoustic Clan
Recreational/Club Player
Local Press Club (Journalists) Champion

The speed of a Rhino and the power of a Gazelle!!!!
http://xtrariter.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 02:20 
Offline
CTRL_ALT_Loop
CTRL_ALT_Loop
User avatar

Joined: 28 Nov 2011, 08:20
Posts: 1401
Location: Egersund, Norway
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 151 times
My two bits (also from one not certified umpire):

A let if you deem that the accident was a significant disturbance for the receiver.

If you, being hit by a blunt object, are unable to rule, you can also interrupt play. In this case it is also a let.

If the disturbance to the receiver and yourself do not significantly influence the outcome, nor your ability to rule, the server wins the point. Remember that you would most likely not rule a let but rather score for the receiver if they made a good return.

Split second decision. You are in the clear either way (as long as you don't give the point to the receiver). It is your call.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 07:25 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1217
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 282 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Evolution FX-P max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
I agree, a let.

What did you rule on the spot?

(2 responses that are almost never wrong for an umpire ruling are let and refer it to the referee :) )

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 14:58 
Offline
003 Style Master
003 Style Master
User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2011, 20:23
Posts: 2236
Location: South Australia
Has thanked: 258 times
Been thanked: 270 times
Blade: Donic Waldner Senso V1
FH: Joola Rhyzm 425
BH: Donic Baracuda Big Slam
Good point keme in that was I distracted enough to not be able to rule adequately. Yes, this was the case as I wasn't even aware the receiver dumped the ball into the net. This isn't unusual though that I don't see what happened in a point, I can't help but get distracted by whether my mate is winning on the next table or checking someones improving technique, worrying whether our fill is here yet or not etc etc. |( |( I'm possibly the worst umpire out there. :sweat:

We all get along pretty well out there though so not knowing what the rule was, we just played a let. Later on when playing my mate, a ball or player entered or was close to entering our area (we have no barriers and tables are a bit close), he missed the shot and I could see that his eyes had diverted for a split second. I asked if he wanted a let and because he sort of went err, um, I just gave him one. You know he would have said no if it wasn't genuine. We are often asking 'you right with that?'. Of course there's always one usual suspect you don't quite trust with an honesty system.

_________________
Donic Waldner Senso V1,FH Joola Rhyzm 425 2.0mm ,BH Donic Baracuda Big Slam 2.0mm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 17:28 
Offline
Goes to 11
Goes to 11
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2014, 20:27
Posts: 7030
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 866 times
Just out of curiosity - supposing the other person DIDN'T hit the ball into the net, but had made a good return, disturbance or no disturbance, would that have been a point for him? :lol: And could our player have legally hit it back using his bare hand? Or hit it back with his OTHER hand? :lol:

Iskandar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 18:53 
Offline
Dances with Spammers
Dances with Spammers
User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2008, 00:22
Posts: 1173
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Blade: Darker Speed 90 Jpen
FH: Dawei Inspirit Quattro UL
iskandar taib wrote:
Just out of curiosity - supposing the other person DIDN'T hit the ball into the net, but had made a good return, disturbance or no disturbance, would that have been a point for him? :lol: And could our player have legally hit it back using his bare hand? Or hit it back with his OTHER hand? :lol:

Iskandar


Good question.

_________________
1-ply Hinoki Club
Violin/Acoustic Clan
Recreational/Club Player
Local Press Club (Journalists) Champion

The speed of a Rhino and the power of a Gazelle!!!!
http://xtrariter.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 20:40 
Offline
Goes to 11
Goes to 11
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2014, 20:27
Posts: 7030
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 866 times
I suppose heading it back wouldn't be legal... :lol:

I had this somewhat macabre thought - prompted by watching this movie last week:



that if you were a skeleton you could head back the ball with your bare forehead. And the bare forehead would be faster than with flesh on it. Though you wouldn't be able to put as much spin on it.

Iskandar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2018, 03:51 
Offline
Call me Shrek!
User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2011, 12:38
Posts: 973
Location: California, USA
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 76 times
Blade: Hallmark Ultra
FH: Tenergy 05 FX max
BH: Rakza 7 Soft max
Interesting point raised by Iskandar. If the opponent had returned the serve correctly, it would prove that he wasn't disturbed (or at least not significantly disturbed) by the incident.

The fact that he played the ball, means that he was still able to play at the ball, despite the incident. I wouldn't assume a let in all cases - if he actively played at the ball, and appeared not to focus on the flying bat or ducking umpire, I would probably let the point stand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ruling please
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2018, 07:30 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1217
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 282 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Evolution FX-P max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
iskandar wrote:
Quote:
Just out of curiosity - supposing the other person DIDN'T hit the ball into the net, but had made a good return, disturbance or no disturbance, would that have been a point for him? :lol: And could our player have legally hit it back using his bare hand? Or hit it back with his OTHER hand? :lol:


Yes to your first question.

The player who lost his bat could not have legally hit the ball back as it is only the playing hand (hand with the bat in it) down to the wrist that is legal. The moment the bat has left the hand that hand is no longer the playing hand. And of course the OTHER hand was never the playing hand.

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fastmover and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2018 OOAK Table Tennis Forum. The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group




Don't forget to 'LIKE' our forum on Facebook if you enjoy the content: