OOAK Table Tennis Forum


A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 15 Dec 2018, 23:07


Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 301 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 03 Jun 2016, 08:26 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 01 Jun 2016, 14:12
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Is it illegal to touch the table with your racket?


Top
 Profile  
 


PostPosted: 03 Jun 2016, 08:55 
Offline
Full member
User avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 2016, 04:41
Posts: 94
Location: Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Nafiz wrote:
Is it illegal to touch the table with your racket?


No.
Only the free hand ( non-racket hand) is not alone to touch the table.
Moving the table is also not allowed.

_________________
Viscaria
FH: H3 Provincial Blue sponge
BH: Omega VII Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018, 09:03 
Online
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 32077
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1689 times
Been thanked: 1141 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dornenglanz OX
I thought I might 'resurrect' this section, as it's got a lot of good Q&A, and I'm sure there's a lot of questions/situations that's not been covered. We've also got a several official umpires here on the forum, who can help answer the more tricky questions. ;)

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018, 09:14 
Online
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 32077
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1689 times
Been thanked: 1141 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dornenglanz OX
metal monkey wrote:
Here's something I've found on youtube...



The ball does not leave his racket and he walks over to the otherside of the table and places it gently :clap: :clap: :clap:

Great skills, but if you were playing him and somehow this situation happened will you call foul play???

I just found this classic video again. Legal or not? :o :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018, 11:28 
Offline
Super User

Joined: 07 Nov 2014, 13:26
Posts: 638
Location: Bogor, Indonesia
Has thanked: 2847 times
Been thanked: 86 times
Blade: Butterfly Defence Alpha
FH: Donic Slice 40 CD 1.5 mm
BH: LKTStrgr+KokBLuJap 1.1 mm
haggisv wrote:
metal monkey wrote:
Here's something I've found on youtube...



The ball does not leave his racket and he walks over to the otherside of the table and places it gently :clap: :clap: :clap:

Great skills, but if you were playing him and somehow this situation happened will you call foul play???

I just this video again. Legal or not? :o :lol: :lol: :lol:
Double hit is a legal opponent point, but,

Suppose there are super tacky rubber that the ball refuse to bounce, well,

Would be a legal stroke, until ITTF hold a special meetup to decide on maximum dwell time. :P

Still, this tactic would be useless for small problem,

Opponent can just swat the ball including the perpetrator blade, and get the legal point. :P

[Obstruction of opponent stroke is opponent point]

Sent from my i5E using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Jun 2018, 13:59 
Offline
Goes to 11
Goes to 11
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2014, 20:27
Posts: 7347
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 899 times
I think he's "hitting" the ball with bare wood, which is illegal.. :lol:

Iskandar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2018, 09:47 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Blade: Stiga Hybrid NCT
FH: Yasaka Valmo
BH: Stiga Airoc Astro S
2 questions:
1) I was in a comp where the tables are next to each other with no barriers. During a hit (simultaneously after the hit), my opponent bumped the player on the other table and turned around (not facing our table). This was all happening right in front of me. I didn't make proper contact with the ball because I assumed a let. If I hit the ball in, the opponent wouldn't have had a chance to return the ball (like an automatic point for me). The umpire was sitting on the side where the players bumped and said he didn't see as he was following the ball. He also said that the bump didn't affect the shot. It didn't affect his shot but everything in my view caused an interruption/disruption or whatever you call it (almost like a player crossing at the back or another ball in our field of play).

Is it a let?

2) Also, in social comps where a lot of players don't follow the new serve rules. How do you enforce it? I normally see the quick (top spin) serve (very low toss) or very spinny serves (low toss again). These players have been playing for a long time. It's difficult for them to change to open hand toss with the height of the net. You can immediately see this when they toss the ball higher, they miss their serve.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2018, 10:53 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1260
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 296 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Evolution FX-P max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
1) I was in a comp where the tables are next to each other with no barriers. During a hit (simultaneously after the hit), my opponent bumped the player on the other table and turned around (not facing our table). This was all happening right in front of me. I didn't make proper contact with the ball because I assumed a let. If I hit the ball in, the opponent wouldn't have had a chance to return the ball (like an automatic point for me). The umpire was sitting on the side where the players bumped and said he didn't see as he was following the ball. He also said that the bump didn't affect the shot. It didn't affect his shot but everything in my view caused an interruption/disruption or whatever you call it (almost like a player crossing at the back or another ball in our field of play).

Is it a let?


It is not a let until the umpire says it is a let. Were you watching the ball at all? You should have just returned the ball on the table and raised your hand to request a let and played till either a let was given or the point was reserved. Most umpires will give a let in this circumstance, I would have thought, but you need to have made a good return.

jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
2) Also, in social comps where a lot of players don't follow the new serve rules. How do you enforce it? I normally see the quick (top spin) serve (very low toss) or very spinny serves (low toss again). These players have been playing for a long time. It's difficult for them to change to open hand toss with the height of the net. You can immediately see this when they toss the ball higher, they miss their serve.


This has been the bane of my existence as an umpire where I play in a pennants competition, and the teams alternate in providing an "umpire". I used to play in a team that consisted of myself being a state or provincial level umpire, an international referee and the secretary of the state or provincial TT body. All 3 of us knew exactly the requirements of a good serve, but woe and betide us if we even warned our opposition about their serving. I personally wait until the end of the night and have a quiet word with such players and point out exactly what the problem is. I then often get told that others do worse etc as some sort of excuse. The things that I have pointed out:
    Starting the serve over the table (they then either bring the ball back behind the table before tossing, or throw the ball backwards so the ball is behind the table when actually struck)
    Not throwing the ball the requisite height (usually pimples players so they can either serve very short or surprise you)
    Not keeping the ball above the level of the table during the service action
    Not throwing the ball vertically up
    Not taking the free arm out of the way until the very last instant, which can lead to
    Hiding the ball or contact

Admittedly, some of these are technical, but they are the rules.

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2018, 11:59 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Blade: Stiga Hybrid NCT
FH: Yasaka Valmo
BH: Stiga Airoc Astro S
Retriever wrote:
It is not a let until the umpire says it is a let. Were you watching the ball at all? You should have just returned the ball on the table and raised your hand to request a let and played till either a let was given or the point was reserved. Most umpires will give a let in this circumstance, I would have thought, but you need to have made a good return.

Yes, I saw the ball. When another ball flies on my table/match (from the other table), do you need to hit a good shot before calling a let? The let should've been called before I hit the shot. Why do I need to hit a good shot first before calling a let? If my shot was in, it's my point. :D Is the opponent required to return my shot, before a let is called? Why would it be a called after a good shot? I thought the let should've been called because of the obstruction and it didn't matter if my shot was good or not. That's why I didn't try to hit a good shot.

I have been at points where the ball popped and as I was going to smash it in, another ball flew on/crossed the table which resulted in a let. The smash was good and the opponent had no chance to return it but it's still a let.

I do not see the point/requirement of hitting a good shot first before a let since it cancels the point.

The only thing I agree with is it's the umpires call. But the umpire can still be wrong in reality. :D

Retriever wrote:
This has been the bane of my existence as an umpire where I play in a pennants competition, and the teams alternate in providing an "umpire". I used to play in a team that consisted of myself being a state or provincial level umpire, an international referee and the secretary of the state or provincial TT body. All 3 of us knew exactly the requirements of a good serve, but woe and betide us if we even warned our opposition about their serving. I personally wait until the end of the night and have a quiet word with such players and point out exactly what the problem is. I then often get told that others do worse etc as some sort of excuse. The things that I have pointed out:
    Starting the serve over the table (they then either bring the ball back behind the table before tossing, or throw the ball backwards so the ball is behind the table when actually struck)
    Not throwing the ball the requisite height (usually pimples players so they can either serve very short or surprise you)
    Not keeping the ball above the level of the table during the service action
    Not throwing the ball vertically up
    Not taking the free arm out of the way until the very last instant, which can lead to
    Hiding the ball or contact

Admittedly, some of these are technical, but they are the rules.
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2018, 12:35 
Online
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 32077
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1689 times
Been thanked: 1141 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dornenglanz OX
jazzcomp wrote:
The only thing I agree with is it's the umpires call. But the umpire can still be wrong in reality. :D

That is the point though... it's the umpire's decision. It does not matter if the umpire is wrong, did not see it, feels that the incident happened after the ball could have been hit, or just sees things differently to you... it's their call to decide if it's a let or not. You should try and make the next shot just in case the umpire decides it's not a let. Umpires will makes mistakes at times, and we all need to accept this as part of the game, even if we're 100% sure the umpire is wrong.

In reality almost all umpire would give you let if there was any doubt though, especially if your opponent also agrees it should have been a let.

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2018, 14:37 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Blade: Stiga Hybrid NCT
FH: Yasaka Valmo
BH: Stiga Airoc Astro S
haggisv wrote:
jazzcomp wrote:
The only thing I agree with is it's the umpires call. But the umpire can still be wrong in reality. :D

That is the point though... it's the umpire's decision. It does not matter if the umpire is wrong, did not see it, feels that the incident happened after the ball could have been hit, or just sees things differently to you... it's their call to decide if it's a let or not. You should try and make the next shot just in case the umpire decides it's not a let. Umpires will makes mistakes at times, and we all need to accept this as part of the game, even if we're 100% sure the umpire is wrong.

In reality almost all umpire would give you let if there was any doubt though, especially if your opponent also agrees it should have been a let.

Not all opponents will call a let or something that is not on their favor especially in a tight game.

As per my original/modified question, is it or should it be a let?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2018, 15:29 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1260
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 296 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Evolution FX-P max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
As per my original/modified question, is it or should it be a let?


Unfortunately, my original point (hah) stands. It is a let if the umpire calls it a let. That is why you continue playing until then. If you stop the point by not playing a shot, catching the ball or whatever, YOU have decided it is a let, not the umpire. Your job is to play your shots, not adjudicate lets. That is part of the umpire's job. Having said that, a reasonable umpire should have seen that play was being disrupted by something outside of you and your opponent, and given the let.

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2018, 08:11 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Blade: Stiga Hybrid NCT
FH: Yasaka Valmo
BH: Stiga Airoc Astro S
Retriever wrote:
jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
As per my original/modified question, is it or should it be a let?

Having said that, a reasonable umpire should have seen that play was being disrupted by something outside of you and your opponent, and given the let.

Thanks! That's what I thought. The umpire is a player too. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2018, 08:15 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Blade: Stiga Hybrid NCT
FH: Yasaka Valmo
BH: Stiga Airoc Astro S
In doubles, how can an umpire call correctly a wrong side serve when he cannot see if the ball landed on the line or not?

This is almost always a point of argument when the server says it's in and both opponents says it's not.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2018, 10:04 
Online
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 32077
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1689 times
Been thanked: 1141 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dornenglanz OX
jazzcomp wrote:
In doubles, how can an umpire call correctly a wrong side serve when he cannot see if the ball landed on the line or not?

This is almost always a point of argument when the server says it's in and both opponents says it's not.

Once again it's a judgement call by the umpire...play the ball regardless, even if you're sure it's on the wrong side, because it's the umpire's call, not yours. Everyone will just have to accept that some calls will be incorrect, but this averages out over time.

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 301 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next




All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2018 OOAK Table Tennis Forum. The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group




Don't forget to 'LIKE' our forum on Facebook if you enjoy the content: