OOAK Table Tennis Forum


A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
Live Table Tennis Videos Table Tennis News Live OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 25 Sep 2018, 21:02


Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 291 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 ... 20  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 07 Jun 2011, 05:18 
Offline
Senior member

Joined: 05 Mar 2010, 03:28
Posts: 164
Location: Wichita Kansas USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Dirty trick sure but legal. :D Kinda like swining hard at a lob and missing the ball on purpose only to dink it short on the next swing. I hate that one

_________________
Omega iv pro
Butterfly super anti special
Blades by Charlie
Tri-carbon HAMMER


Top
 Profile  
 


Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 07 Jun 2011, 16:17 
Offline
Count Darkula
Count Darkula
User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2007, 15:07
Posts: 17468
Location: Dark side of Australia!!
Has thanked: 411 times
Been thanked: 284 times
Blade: Bty Gergely T5000
FH: TSP Regalis Blue Max
BH: Tibhar Grass Dtecs
anti Don wrote:
Dirty trick sure but legal. :D Kinda like swining hard at a lob and missing the ball on purpose only to dink it short on the next swing. I hate that one


True Anti-don, but that one seems less "dirty" for some reason, don't know why. :lol:

_________________
I'm always in the dark, but the Dark sheds lights upon everything!! :twisted: Beauty is only pimple deep! Beauty is in the eye of the pipholder!
S/U 1: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Andro Rasant 2.1 . BH Red Tibhar Grass Dtecs
S/U 2: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Hexer+ 2.1 . BH Red GD Talon
S/U 3: Blade: Bty Gergely . No rubbers...thinking of adding Red Dtecs and Black Rasant
Aussie Table Tennis Shop / Aussie Table Tennis Facebook Page / Equipment Review Index / Read my Reb Report Blog: click here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18 Jul 2011, 08:33 
Offline
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 31983
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1643 times
Been thanked: 1115 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dornenglanz OX
Someone should really summarise the Q & A in this section, as it's getting so big it's very hard to find... It's got some great discussions and senarios though...

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Oct 2011, 21:19 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 05 Jul 2010, 17:58
Posts: 30
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Question on serving in Doubles :
-------------------------------------
I have observed a numbers of ITTF Doubles matches that had differences in the order of serving, and I am totally confused :

e.g.
At the Japan Open Women Doubles Final,
LiJW(A)/WangYG(B) vs Fuji(X)/Waka(Y)
Game 1 : A serves to X
Game 2 : Y serves to B
Game 3 : A serves to X
Game 4 : Y serves to B
Game 5 : A serves to X
[seems to have a consistent pattern so far...]

At the Austrian Open Women Doubles Final,
FanYan(A)/WuYang(B) vs DingNing(X)/LiXiaoXia(Y),
Game 1 : A serves to X
Game 2 : Y serves to B
Game 3 : B serves to Y
Game 4 : Y serves to B
[was there an error of serve order in Game 3 ?]

At the Austrian Open Men Doubles Final,
MaLin(A)/ZhangJK(B) vs WangHao(X)/MaLong(Y),
Game 1 : A serves to X
Game 2 : Y serves to B
Game 3 : A serves to X
Game 4 : Y serves to B
Game 5 : B serves to Y
[what happened at Game 5 ???]

And then I take a harder look at the rule :

2.13.4 In each game of a doubles match, the pair having the right to serve first shall choose which of them will do so and in the first game of a match the receiving pair shall decide which of them will receive first; in subsequent games of the match, the first server having been chosen, the first receiver shall be the player who served to him in the preceding game.

So does it mean at each game (as in every game of a 7-game Match) the serving side can decide which player to serve first ? Rather than a fixed order from the first game ? Then may be the above 3 examples are all correct, as it was the serving side's decision who to serve ?

But what is still puzzling is that the Umpire actually called out the server's and receiver's name, sounded as if the Umpire was giving the instruction. Or was she just announcing it for what she observed the outcome ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Oct 2011, 03:39 
Offline
Super User

Joined: 14 Dec 2009, 09:02
Posts: 369
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Yes, in every game the serving side can decide which player will serve first and the receivers adapt to this.

_________________
New darkside setup: lion absolute impact - dragon dragon talon (ox) - palio CJ 8000 premium (max)
Frame: Andro Super Core Cell All+ - forehand: Thibar Nimbus Sound 2.2 mm (red) - backhand: LKT Pro XT 2.2 mm (black)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Oct 2011, 20:14 
Offline
Stir Crazy

Joined: 04 Oct 2010, 16:19
Posts: 928
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 17 times
wfberkhof wrote:
Yes, in every game the serving side can decide which player will serve first and the receivers adapt to this.

This was new to me as well, but you're absolutely correct.

The crucial part in 2.13.04 is "In each game of a doubles match, the pair having the right to serve first shall choose which of them will do so ..."

_________________
"So long, and thanks for all the fish
So sad that it should come to this"
Sung by the dolphins in The hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2011, 00:02 
Offline
Super User
User avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 05:18
Posts: 876
Location: The (Un)ited States
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Blade: Appelgren Allplay
FH: Mark V GPS 2.0
BH: Reflectoid 2.0
So what about those weird double hits where you hit it normally and a fraction of a second later your bat hits it again? Does that end the point?

_________________
Happy Holidays 'round the world!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2011, 01:53 
Offline
Super User

Joined: 14 Dec 2009, 09:02
Posts: 369
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Double hits used to end the points, but I believe it was September 2010 when they changed the rules on that so that an unintentional double hit does not end the point any more.

_________________
New darkside setup: lion absolute impact - dragon dragon talon (ox) - palio CJ 8000 premium (max)
Frame: Andro Super Core Cell All+ - forehand: Thibar Nimbus Sound 2.2 mm (red) - backhand: LKT Pro XT 2.2 mm (black)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2011, 23:22 
Offline
Count Darkula
Count Darkula
User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2007, 15:07
Posts: 17468
Location: Dark side of Australia!!
Has thanked: 411 times
Been thanked: 284 times
Blade: Bty Gergely T5000
FH: TSP Regalis Blue Max
BH: Tibhar Grass Dtecs
Yes I think they added the word deliberate in the double hit rule, meaning only a deliberate double hit is now a fault.

_________________
I'm always in the dark, but the Dark sheds lights upon everything!! :twisted: Beauty is only pimple deep! Beauty is in the eye of the pipholder!
S/U 1: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Andro Rasant 2.1 . BH Red Tibhar Grass Dtecs
S/U 2: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Hexer+ 2.1 . BH Red GD Talon
S/U 3: Blade: Bty Gergely . No rubbers...thinking of adding Red Dtecs and Black Rasant
Aussie Table Tennis Shop / Aussie Table Tennis Facebook Page / Equipment Review Index / Read my Reb Report Blog: click here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Feb 2012, 21:31 
Offline
Smack Attack!
Smack Attack!
User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2009, 15:39
Posts: 3495
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 52 times
pondersaizi wrote:
Say you've got lighting, where the fluros hang down from a high ceiling with chains. You lob the ball really high, and the ball goes over the light between the chains, but does not make contact with anything..

All good just carry on

_________________
Blade Ulmo Duality| FH Tibhar mx-p Black, Dawei 388D-1 red OX
NZ table tennis selector, ask a question
My Blog here..How table tennis objects are made
Table Tennis abbreviations, and acronyms


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2012, 04:06 
Offline
Full member

Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 01:42
Posts: 55
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Ok, the last match in the competition (official dutch regional league), I had an argument with my opponent over my fast serve.
As far as I know, you have to throw the ball up at least 15cm in the air (leaving the hand ofcourse) before a serve.
However, she argued that I didn't throw the ball high up enough or served from my hand. Which is ridiculous because I always pay attention to this and never had a complaint before.
But, I do know I have a slight problem, my left hand always follows the movement of the ball a bit after I throw it up. It doesn't conceal the ball in any way for the oppoent, but it does follow the balls trajectory a bit, which might give the impression I don't throw it high up enough.

Is there any rule on this? Should I somehow keep my left hand steady or away. I know it's illegal to conceal the ball in anyway too but it's not the case. Nobody ever had a problem with the way I do my fast serve before

_________________
Setup: Donic Defplay Senso / Yasaka Rakza 9 2.0mm / TSP Curl P1R OX
2nd setup: Donic Defplay Senso / Yasaka Rakza X 2.0mm / TSP Curl P1R 1mm


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2012, 04:34 
Offline
Full member

Joined: 10 Feb 2012, 00:25
Posts: 58
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times
First of all, the rule says at least 16cm, not 15cm. So based on that already, I suppose all your serves are illegal. ;)

The ball really has to travel at least 16cm AFTER leaving the palm. Often players lift the hand and kind of carry the ball upwards rather than tossing it, only releasing it at the end so that it climbs up another few centimeters. If that's your case, you need to make the toss more pronounced.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2012, 05:10 
Offline
Full member

Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 01:42
Posts: 55
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time
TTTTT wrote:
First of all, the rule says at least 16cm, not 15cm. So based on that already, I suppose all your serves are illegal. ;)

The ball really has to travel at least 16cm AFTER leaving the palm. Often players lift the hand and kind of carry the ball upwards rather than tossing it, only releasing it at the end so that it climbs up another few centimeters. If that's your case, you need to make the toss more pronounced.

Well usually I throw it even higher up than 16cm anyway. Because the higher up the ball the more effect I feel I can give, but that doesn't happen to be when i'm doing a fast no-spin serve.
I guess I should pay more attention to actually tossing the ball instead of carrying it up. The question remains however, what to do with the position of the hand after the ball leaves, is it forbidden to 'follow' the ball (which I do instinctively, not meant)

_________________
Setup: Donic Defplay Senso / Yasaka Rakza 9 2.0mm / TSP Curl P1R OX
2nd setup: Donic Defplay Senso / Yasaka Rakza X 2.0mm / TSP Curl P1R 1mm


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2012, 05:31 
Offline
Full member

Joined: 10 Feb 2012, 00:25
Posts: 58
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Nebur wrote:
I guess I should pay more attention to actually tossing the ball instead of carrying it up. The question remains however, what to do with the position of the hand after the ball leaves, is it forbidden to 'follow' the ball (which I do instinctively, not meant)


Well, the rule as it stands currently says the free arm should be removed as soon as the ball leaves the hand. It doesn't matter whether you intend to hide or not. But if the "following the ball" is just part of the toss motion (as a natural follow-through) and your arm doesn't linger and hang still in the air, no one should have a problem with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2012, 10:15 
Offline
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 31983
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1643 times
Been thanked: 1115 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dornenglanz OX
These are the official rules:
Quote:
2.06.01 Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand.
2.06.02 The server shall then project the ball near vertically upwards, without imparting spin, so that it rises at least 16cm after leaving the palm of the free hand and then falls without touching anything before being struck.
2.06.03 As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his or her court and then, after passing over or around the net assembly, touches directly the receiver's court; in doubles, the ball shall touch successively the right half court of server and receiver.
2.06.04 From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry.
2.06.05 As soon as the ball has been projected, the server’s free arm and hand shall be removed from the space between the ball and the net.
The space between the ball and the net is defined by the ball, the net and its indefinite upward extension.
2.06.06 It is the responsibility of the player to serve so that the umpire or the assistant umpire can be satisfied that he or she complies with the requirements of the Laws, and either may decide that a service is incorrect.
2.06.06.01 If either the umpire or the assistant umpire is not sure about the legality of a service he or she may, on the first occasion in a match, interrupt play and warn the server; but any subsequent service by that player or his or her doubles partner which is not clearly legal shall be considered incorrect.
2.06.07 Exceptionally, the umpire may relax the requirements for a correct service where he or she is satisfied that compliance is prevented by physical disability.


So technically it's ok to follow the ball upwards with your hard, as long as it's clearly left your hand, and it's not between the ball and the net. As stated, this must only be clear to the umpire, not your opponent.

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 291 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 ... 20  Next



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2012 OOAK Table Tennis Forum. The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group




Don't forget to 'LIKE' our forum on Facebook if you enjoy the content: