OOAK Table Tennis Forum
http://ooakforum.com/

TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False
http://ooakforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4831
Page 21 of 23

Author:  Retriever [ 04 Dec 2018, 10:44 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
In doubles, how can an umpire call correctly a wrong side serve when he cannot see if the ball landed on the line or not?

This is almost always a point of argument when the server says it's in and both opponents says it's not.


If the umpire is doing their job, they should be standing up to umpire doubles, as this gives a lot better view of the doubles line. If it is another player being the "umpire" then they often won't though. Quite often the server's partner will acknowledge that a serve is the wrong side. What to do if both sides are super competitive (win at all costs)? If there is strong disagreement the umpire may end up calling a let - this is not a satisfactory outcome for the truthful player though.

Author:  jazzcomp [ 21 Mar 2019, 09:48 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

Why can't anyone or specifically inverted rubber users/players change bats between sets or during the set?

(Aside from the rule), what's the logic behind it?

Author:  jazzcomp [ 28 Mar 2019, 10:00 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

What's the actual rule when a return with a bat occurs but dropped after hitting before the ball lands on the other side? :angel: The distraction leads you to watch the cause of the noise from the dropped bat and makes you lose focus on returning the ball. If the return from the other player is successful, it's a no-brainer as the other dropped bat player has no bat to use.

If you're saying that the dropped bat is of no-consequence to the point, then why is putting the non-bat hand on the table after a hit considered a violation. It may also be of no consequence to the hit. 8)

Author:  Retriever [ 28 Mar 2019, 10:49 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
What's the actual rule when a return with a bat occurs but dropped after hitting before the ball lands on the other side? :angel: The distraction leads you to watch the cause of the noise from the dropped bat and makes you lose focus on returning the ball. If the return from the other player is successful, it's a no-brainer as the other dropped bat player has no bat to use.

If you're saying that the dropped bat is of no-consequence to the point, then why is putting the non-bat hand on the table after a hit considered a violation. It may also be of no consequence to the hit. 8)


The rule about the bat being in the hand is only saying that the hit is valid only if at the point of contact the bat is being held in the hand.

The rule about putting the non-bat or free hand on the table is while the point is still "live". It is possible for the opponent to make a correct return unless:
the ball bounces a 2nd time on the table
the ball encounters something that is not the table (the floor, the wall, the ceiling, the player etc)
the ball goes outside of the playing area (over the barriers if you have barriers)


Here are the definitions from the ITTF web site, 2018 ITTF Handbook.:
2.5.7 A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, held in the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist.
...
2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point
...
2.10.1.2 if an opponent fails to make a correct return;
...
2.10.1.11 if an opponent's free hand touches the playing surface;

HTH.

Author:  jazzcomp [ 28 Mar 2019, 14:42 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

Thanks! I'm really confused with distractions or reasons for let or automatic point. Why does the umpire call for silence? (For players to focus/concentration)

In tennis if anything falls during play (hat/headband/ball from the pocket), that's an automatic violation and point for the other player.

Author:  lasta [ 28 Mar 2019, 15:01 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

Is there a specific rule saying you can only use 1 racket? Ie can dual wield and play two-sided forehand? :rofl:

Author:  jazzcomp [ 16 May 2019, 22:50 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

Someone complained about my dribbling before a serve. :swear: Is there a rule on that?

Another player complained about swinging the racket before a toss/serve. Again, is there a rule on that?

Author:  GarField000 [ 17 May 2019, 07:43 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

There nothing about both as long as you uphold the other rules.

As long as you throw the ball up from the correct place and your opponent can see the ball all thru the serve it's legal.

I think I have seen the drible before .. doens't hugo do that?
And i've seen service where the arm made some kind helicopter swing .... looks weird but it's legal.

Author:  GarField000 [ 17 May 2019, 07:49 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

I checked hugo's match versus Ma long and he wipes a few times with his blade before serving.

Author:  jazzcomp [ 17 May 2019, 09:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

Thanks, the way I dribble is against my bat so I'm tossing the ball towards the bat. But when I serve I toss high/upwards and not towards my bat. :)

Author:  Retriever [ 17 May 2019, 11:35 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
Thanks, the way I dribble is against my bat so I'm tossing the ball towards the bat. But when I serve I toss high/upwards and not towards my bat.


As long as your ball toss for "dribbling" is quite distinct from your ball toss for serving then it should be OK. Also you may want to make sure you don't spend too much time "dribbling" as you may end up making play less than continuous (and with a wet floor :) ).

Author:  iskandar taib [ 18 May 2019, 04:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

"Dribbling"? On your bat??? :lol: (Like getting saliva on it? :lol: :lol: :lol: )

Iskandar

Author:  jazzcomp [ 18 May 2019, 21:27 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

I guess there's no basketball players here :rofl: :P

Author:  jazzcomp [ 18 May 2019, 22:52 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

How come pimple players don't want to use their pimples during warmup?

Author:  dazzler [ 19 May 2019, 00:24 ]
Post subject:  Re: TT Rules. Questions and Urban Legends - True or False

Warm up usually consists of topspin exchange which wouldn't go well with the ox pips,I can exchange better with the smooth rubber for this

Page 21 of 23 All times are UTC + 9:30 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/