OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 18:25

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2014, 03:01 

I'm a beginner with a table in my basement. I just came across this great forum. I've decided that I want to get more serious about improving and am looking to get a robot. I have never seen any robots in person, but have looked at lots of videos online and read many reviews, forum discussions, etc. I could still use some advice please!

I think I've narrowed it down to either the Y&T 989H (same as the Paddle Palace H2W, right?), or one of the Amicus, probably the "Advance". I want the two wheel robot because I want to practice with no-spin shots, and slow spinny shots - I see a lot of these at my level. I also want something that's easy to set up and take down, because I'll be using the robot on the same table I play on. And it has to be relatively easy to use, especially since my young teen son will be using it. Durability and reliability are important of course, but it won't be getting tons of use - it will be just us.

So here are the advantages and disadvantages as I see it of the two robots:

989H:
Advantages:
Easier to program with touch screen.
Has indicator telling you what spin is coming at you
Quieter

Disadvantages:
Can't do short shots or high shots (this seems like a very big disadvantage to me)

Amicus:
Advantages:
Better variety of shots

Disadvantages:
Harder to program

I don't know which one of these is easier to set up, but get the impression they're both pretty easy. And there are probably many other considerations I haven't even thought of.

So can anyone with knowledge of these two robots please pipe in, or let me know if you'd recommend an alternative?

Thanks!!

- Dave