OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 18:59

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post subject: Achilles Rupture
PostPosted: 01 Dec 2013, 02:47 

Morning,
Just thought Id share my experience and advice having gone through an Achilles rupture and recovery.

A couple of years ago I started training heavily after a long period of no activity. I was in the habit of just going out and playing. Not stretching often.

I just jumped on the court one day cold and started playing. Within the first 10 minutes of warming up I lunged for a BH chop and heard a LOUD sound like a gunshot. I remember falling and trying to get up, but my foot was flopping around and so the gang got me sitting down right away with some ice.
After the hospital visit, I had a cast put on for months, then transferred to a adjustable boot to stretch the tendon after healing.
It was a sucky 3/4 yr recovery, but I didn't miss a TT session. I was able to block for others with one leg on a chair and it really helped me in the long run..lol
Eventually I recovered and was back at playing ball. The most important thing in the recovery was stretching and lots of ice after playing.
I'd like to say that this could have been prevented, with good habits and routines.
Don't forget to stretch, especially if you are over 40! LOL.
To this day its weak and doing better, but it will never be the same.
Stretch guys.... don't forget.
Cheers

Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

Post subject: Re: Achilles Rupture
PostPosted: 01 Dec 2013, 02:52 
LP Collector
LP Collector

Blade: Yaska Sweden Classic
FH: 802 OX
BH: DHS C8 OX