OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 14:20

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 29 Aug 2016, 23:08 
Super User

Modern defender newbie here. Just have a couple of questions.

First off, I know varying spin in the chop game is a big factor. Between light spin & heavy. I've watched several pros on youtube but seeing the subtle differences in exactly how they do this can be tricky. Is there a way I can spot it? Is it as simple as chopping harder & down on some balls vs lightly on others? Or would a spin variation be considered chopping with more of a sideways motion to vary the spin. Do you find you use wrist action down on your chops? I've found I don't use mine much in chops.

Is it a problem that I'm left handed as a chopper? You don't really see too many pros like that. It could be just that being left handed & a chopper is unlikely. Or it could be there is some distinct disadvantage to it.

When chopping off the table and the opponent pushes the ball. Several players will come in and forehand loop that ball. I can do that however on balls that a player doesn't want to attack I've noticed they'll twiddle (I can do that just fine) to their inverted and push it back to keep it as backspin then twiddle back to their standard side of inverted FH & LP BH. Should I always do this? Is it too difficult to push a backspin ball with LPs and keep it low?

My setup:
Blade: RITC729 W-1
FH: Globe 999 2.0
BH: Palio ck531a 1.0 (I really like sponged LPs as I like to occasionally attack with them close to the table. Much easier with sponge I've found compared to OX)

Any advice you guys might have I'd appreciate. Thanks.