OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 23:18

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post subject: Forehand and serve tips?
PostPosted: 29 Jul 2012, 08:08 

I am a self taught table tennis player, basically beginner; I have played for a couple years and the only form of teaching I have is by watching instructional videos, getting tips from friends who are better than me, and watching professionals. I also play tennis. Basically I would like to know a few things: Is the shakehand grip a good grip for a short player (around 5'8), how much does the racket matter for spin (I have an OK racket, not the kind you would find in a rec room, but it's not nearly professional-grade either), and what are some good strategies for learning a serve? I use a basic underspin serve which is effective enough but doesn't resemble serves of professionals that well. Also, when returning a low, short ball, is it better to "push" or hit a topspin forehand, and how would you hit such a topspin forehand?

PostPosted: 29 Jul 2012, 08:41 
Super User

Blade: Hugo Calderano OFF+
FH: Hexer Powergrip 2.1
BH: Hexer Powergrip 2.1
Thats a lot of questions...

Are you part of a table tennis club? If so see if some of the better players can help guide you to becomming a better player. Also depending on your location you may be able to find a coach that you can pay for a few lessons to work on your techniques and skills.

If you want to develop a serve pick a serve you want to learn, get a box full of balls and practice them until there is none left in the box trying to get consistency, spin and placement.