OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 19 Mar 2024, 15:22

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2017, 03:50 

Blade: Stiga Clipper CC
FH: DHS H3
BH: Xiom Vega Japan
I have 70 hours to dedicate to serve practice. Im new to tt, what should it consist of. Are there games or goals to have.

Focus
Spin, speed, placement

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2017, 11:46 
Goes to 11
Goes to 11

How new are you to TT? Maybe start here:

and go on from there (there's more videos in the series). This one already has stuff you can spend 2-3 hours practicing - the bed serve, the floor serve.. and that's before you even get to the table.. :lol: These are worth practicing, even if you've been playing for years. (ESPECIALLY if you've been playing for years, in some cases...)

Things to work on, in my opinion:

1) Getting good spin on the ball.
2) Disguising the spin you have on the ball.
3) Placement - short, fast serves.

Also perhaps do serve-and-return drills with someone. Play points, alternate serves every point or two points, don't keep score.

Iskandar

PostPosted: 12 Nov 2017, 13:41 

Thanks taib! Ive played for a year n a month now. Ive watched all of his videos many times, ill watch them beforehand n keep them in mind.
Is there anything i should be thinking about? Or serving games i could do?

I've edged my way to a 1700 rating
I'll look out for the ninja serve assister

PostPosted: 13 Nov 2017, 19:18 

Hi bars,

Great to see you doing this. Most people would rather 'improve' their game by buying new rubbers. 70 hours of serve practice will produce real results.

1. Choose one serve action.
2. Practice until it's really spinny.
3. Practice until it's very short, 2 or 3 bounces on the table.