OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 26 Apr 2024, 19:46

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2014, 09:35 

As you can see from my signature, I have been trying various blade/rubber combinations over the past 4+ years since I started playing. I'm a 69 YO player. I started with the Donic and Yasaka blades and various Chinese rubbers, like Reflectoid, 4 Kings and Rapid Soft. I had a lot of trouble with control with these rubbers, so I went to various pips rubbers. Control was better, but the lack of spin didn't allow me to easily return low hard shots on the table, unless I just blocked. Some people here recommended that I try better inverted rubber, but I was leery to Pay $35+ for something that I wouldn't like. Of course, it isn't like I haven't spent much more than that trying various combinations.

A few days ago one of the players at the senior center bought new rackets for he and his wife. It was a better Yasaka premade - Yasaka Mark V blade with Mark V 2.0 rubbers. I played with it for a while and played better than I ever had right from the start. I was able to hit a lot of winners with relatively few errors. I had been playing with my Yasaka Sweden Classic with Yasaka Original rubber for a few days, so it was inverted to inverted.

I decided to order that racket that night, but discovered that it is a factory made racket, not sealed and assembled with high strength glue. I didn't want a racket that I couldn't change rubbers, so I looked for a relatively economical alternative. I decided on this assembled racket at a savings from American Table Tennis through megaspin.

https://www.megaspin.net/store/default. ... -gat-ex-pr