OOAK Table Tennis Forum


A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
Live Table Tennis Videos Table Tennis News Live OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 23 Jul 2018, 13:57


Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2017, 09:43 
Offline
003 Style Master
003 Style Master
User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2011, 20:23
Posts: 2203
Location: South Australia
Has thanked: 252 times
Been thanked: 262 times
Blade: Donic Appelgren Allplay
FH: Joola Rhyzm 425
BH: Donic Baracuda Big Slam
My understanding is that a bat cannot be changed during a match unless accidently damaged however this appears as though its only listed under the international rules.

3.4.2.4 A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is
accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used; if this happens the
damaged racket shall be replaced immediately by another which the player
has brought with him or her to the playing area or one which is handed to him
or her in the playing area.

In the standard rules there is no reference to this, only

2.4.7 The racket covering shall be used without any physical, chemical or other
treatment.
2.4.7.1 Slight deviations from continuity of surface or uniformity of colour due to
accidental damage or wear may be allowed provided that they do not
significantly change the characteristics of the surface.
2.4.8 Before the start of a match and whenever he or she changes his or her racket
during a match a player shall show his or her opponent and the umpire the
racket he or she is about to use and shall allow them to examine it.

Does this mean that there is not rule saying you can't change a bat during a match. That you can even change from inverted to LP if things aren't going your way or in our local club comps do way play as part of the international rules by being an ITTF affiliated club?

_________________
Donic Appelgren Allplay,FH Joola Rhyzm 425 2.0mm ,BH Donic Baracuda Big Slam 2.0mm
Yasaka Extra, Haifu Whale, Haifu Shark
Sunflex Hurricane, Milky Way 955 LP OX , 729 802-40 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 

PostPosted: 09 Nov 2017, 11:01 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1171
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 270 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Evolution FX-P max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
It depends if the body organising the competition inherits the ITTF rules via your country, state etc, and then if it (or anything in the chain) has a by-law overriding the ITTF rule(s).

Two by-laws from my local comp:

Except for the top division there are no time-outs.
No expedite to be used.

In the absence of anything noted I would expect there to be no bat change allowed except if the one being played with gets accidentally damaged.

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2017, 11:05 
Online
Goes to 11
Goes to 11
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2014, 20:27
Posts: 6728
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 817 times
Cobalt wrote:
My understanding is that a bat cannot be changed during a match unless accidently damaged however this appears as though its only listed under the international rules.

3.4.2.4 A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is
accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used; if this happens the
damaged racket shall be replaced immediately by another which the player
has brought with him or her to the playing area or one which is handed to him
or her in the playing area.


This seems counter to what little I've seen of situations like this. I can't remember when exactly - it was the finals at the WTTC last year, I think, and I think it was Ma Long. He hit the side of the table with his bat, which caused a little tear at the side of the bat. I'm pretty sure it wasn't "damaged so badly that it cannot be used" - it was just a tiny tear at the edge. Yet the umpire told him to get another bat, so he did. I also notice people here mentioning bringing markers to the table to disguise places where the topsheet had gotten broken off - apparently it's "illegal" with play with a bat where you can see bits of sponge at the edges, or even a little amount of bare wood. I'd think this would be covered by 2.4.7.1 below. Maybe people carry things a bit too far.

Someone (can't remember the name - it's the Turkish umpire guy) pointed out that most tournaments WILL apply International Rules when it comes to things like rackets. There are other things that appear in International Rules only, such as having to have the rubber ID strip visible. I was apparently not required back in the 1960s and maybe even 1970s - some people (or at least some of the local schoolkids around here) would apply the rubber upside down, and cut off the ID strip - this way your opponent wouldn't know what you were using. Very useful if you had a one-color bat with anti.

Cobalt wrote:
In the standard rules there is no reference to this, only

2.4.7 The racket covering shall be used without any physical, chemical or other
treatment.
2.4.7.1 Slight deviations from continuity of surface or uniformity of colour due to
accidental damage or wear may be allowed provided that they do not
significantly change the characteristics of the surface.
2.4.8 Before the start of a match and whenever he or she changes his or her racket
during a match a player shall show his or her opponent and the umpire the
racket he or she is about to use and shall allow them to examine it.

Does this mean that there is not rule saying you can't change a bat during a match. That you can even change from inverted to LP if things aren't going your way or in our local club comps do way play as part of the international rules by being an ITTF affiliated club?


The last time I was playing (around 1998-2001 or so) the rules were different. You were allowed to change your bat whenever you wanted to, as long as you told your opponent, and allowed him/her to examine it. Someone even posted about someone he knew who regularly used two different bats - he'd bring the second one out when the game went into expedite - he'd use one bat for serving and one bat for when he had to receive. Well, we still have someone playing with bare wood (actually vinyl decal) at Social Doubles - if you think long pips causes spin reversal, you've never seen what bare wood does... :lol:

Iskandar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 10 Nov 2017, 11:11 
Offline
I am Legend
I am Legend
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 18:21
Posts: 5988
Location: Queensland
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 101 times
Blade: Nittaku Acoustic
FH: Double Crappiness H8
BH: Donic Bluefire JP03
Cobalt wrote:
My understanding is that a bat cannot be changed during a match unless accidently damaged however this appears as though its only listed under the international rules.

3.4.2.4 A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is
accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used; if this happens the
damaged racket shall be replaced immediately by another which the player
has brought with him or her to the playing area or one which is handed to him
or her in the playing area.

In the standard rules there is no reference to this, only

2.4.7 The racket covering shall be used without any physical, chemical or other
treatment.
2.4.7.1 Slight deviations from continuity of surface or uniformity of colour due to
accidental damage or wear may be allowed provided that they do not
significantly change the characteristics of the surface.
2.4.8 Before the start of a match and whenever he or she changes his or her racket
during a match a player shall show his or her opponent and the umpire the
racket he or she is about to use and shall allow them to examine it.

Does this mean that there is not rule saying you can't change a bat during a match. That you can even change from inverted to LP if things aren't going your way or in our local club comps do way play as part of the international rules by being an ITTF affiliated club?


TTA adopts ITTF rules, so any TTA, and association (eg, TTV), and affiliated club should follow the ittf rules.

In terms of club rules, what rules you guys choose follow for club fixtures is on you, but i would be extremely surprised if any affiliated club deviates from the ITTF rules intentionally for regular/standard match play. There are exceptions of course, mostly ones that can't be enforced without officiating match umpires - eg, like what retriever mentioned - expedite, time wasters and timeouts.

_________________
Chasse Patate

NEW RUBBER MASS INDEX || OLD RUBBER MASS INDEX


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: angelav, Google Adsense [Bot], iskandar taib and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2012 OOAK Table Tennis Forum. The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group




Don't forget to 'LIKE' our forum on Facebook if you enjoy the content: