OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 17:58

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 10 May 2018, 22:26 

Although I've been playing non-club TT on and off for around 40 years I'm only just considering a custom bat as my youngest son (18 years old) is close to beating me, so I need an advantage ;)

I've purchased a few ready made Stiga bats in the past and my favourite (and latest) was the Stiga 4 star Supreme. This has the following ratings:

Speed: 95/100; Spin: 86/100; Control: 47/100

I've had the bat for about 18 months and for the last 6 (at least) it appears to have lost all the characteristics I enjoyed when I first got it, which I assume is down to the rubber perishing. When first purchased I really enjoyed using it and felt able to put much more spin on the ball than with any previous bat I have owned.

I would class myself as an attacking player with a stronger forehand than backhand. My favourite shot is a topspin forehand and although I can perform the same backhand shot it isn't as consistent.

I suspect it isn't difficult to build a bat that is better than the Stiga Supreme, but would very much appreciate some advice on where to start. My budget is between £100 and £150. I like the idea of being able to change the rubbers when they are worn, without having to change the blade. Not being a club player makes it difficult for me to try different bats to get a feel for what suits me :(

PostPosted: 10 May 2018, 22:59 
003 Style Master
003 Style Master

Blade: Donic Waldner Senso V1
FH: Victas VS401
BH: Victas Triple Regular