OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 20:48

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 17 Mar 2024, 20:06 

Hello,
I've been playing table tennis for around ten years in a small club that only had a coach for 3 years because it's expensive.
Despite the training, I still cannot return the serves because I am too slow in reading the server's gesture and I am overwhelmed when I have to return the serve. When I get there it's a stroke of luck... So I no longer have any pleasure in playing and want to stop.
Last week, a player made me try a "Best anti" anti-top on the backhand of a Stiga allround classic wood, and there I can deliver serves without worrying and I have found pleasure in playing again.
BUT, the big problem is that it is very frowned upon by other members of the club to have an anti-top and they told me clearly that even if these coverings are approved by the ITTF, they will no longer play against me in training because the anti-top causes dead balls and trajectories which destroy the effectiveness of the exercises when you have a backside.
I've asked other clubs in the area what they think and they don't want it, and the ones with pips aren't welcome either, so I'm at a dead end.
So my dilemma is that with backsides I take the effect and I no longer have the pleasure of playing, and if I persist with a backhand anti-top no one wants to train with me.
Ultimately, either I have a conventional racket in training and a racket with an anti-top in competition (and during matches at the end of training) and there it poses no problem to anyone, or I am condemned to stop .