OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 22:03

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 12 Aug 2011, 04:10 
Iron Pips
Iron Pips

Blade: Matador
FH: Tibhar K1 Euro
BH: SuperGlanti
I am watching Joo against Samsonov (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3eGeEitbZ-Q) and wondering how it comes Joo can run towards the table at Samsonovs drop shot and push with his pips without Sammy killing that push. How can he create back spin enough so that it can't be killed? I have been using DTecS 1,2 mm for 5 months now and I am having troubles generating spin on a no spin ball (serves mostly) or on a drop shot. Lars Borg at Japsko said in a newsletter (http://www.japsko.se/content/9-nya_belag) concerning impressions from Rotterdam that Joo and Park Mi Young is using DTecS with 1,6 mm sponge (this is no news to most of this forum's readers) because of its increased ability to generate spin (at least this is how I interpret what Lars wrote). This was according the the players themselfs.

My question: is it more easy to generate spin with the thicker sponge than with 1,2 mm? What else differs? The sponge is medium soft and fast on high impact but slow when chopping. Is this different with the thicker one? What happens with the spin reversal? Since the sponge is a little hard, it feels like it is not much in use on light handed blocks or service returns, and therfore a thicker sponge might not make a huge difference? Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

PostPosted: 12 Aug 2011, 05:30 
Holey Woods
Holey Woods

Blade: Joo Se Hyuk
FH: Xiom Omega VII Euro
BH: Dornenglanz ox