OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 15:58

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 07 Jun 2023, 23:44 

Blade: Gambler Rosewood
FH: Winning NP-8
BH: GXL
My first post, and I'm new at this so go easy on me :) I know I'm doing things a bit weirdly here. I have read a lot about this stuff, but only been playing for about 6 months.

I have been experimenting with long pips for a few months now and really liking them. Currently I have FH CK531A ox and BH 388D ox on a Gambler Zebra. LP is on both sides to try get a feel for both of them - telling myself I will change the FH, but kind of liking LP on both too. Before the LPs, I had settled on a spinny SP (NP-8 ox) on both sides of a slow Toxic3 blade after trying a lot of SP/hardbat rubbers - that was the one I was able to chop with most consistently (though not nearly as well as with LP). I've never played with inverted.

I want to play a mostly defensive game - pushing/blocking and chopping. My goal is to keep the ball on the table as much as possible because that's what is most fun for me (don't care too much about winning the point even). I supposed I can't resist a smash when given the opportunity, but I have no desire to loop. I did have a decent BH drive sometimes with the SP, that has pretty much gone away with the LP.

I hit fairly frequently against a robot at home and once or twice a week at a club against a range of skills. While I am not the best judge, I don't get the impression anyone is at a super high level (there's a lot of older folks and doubles games). I am in my 40s and don't see much opportunity to get into training seriously or playing tournaments or anything like that. Ok so that's the background.