OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 04:04

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post subject: DMS Firestorm Soft
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2019, 21:40 
Darth Pips
Darth Pips

Blade: Stiga Cybershape Carbon
FH: Butterfly Tenergy 19 2.1
BH: Dr Neubauer ABS3 1.5
Had my first session last night with Firestorm Soft on my forehand, drilling with a friend who is a long pips blocker. I'm relatively new to short pips on the forehand, so I don't have a ton of experience, but compared to others I've used (Waran, Spinpips Red, 802-40) it was clearly the most spinny short pip I've ever tried. Comparing it to the Spinpips Red, I definitely felt like I got more spin, and thanks to the soft sponge, it felt more controllable for me as well. That being said, I also thought for such a soft sponge it still hit pretty well. The extra control I felt like it granted me allowed me to take a bit of a harder swing. And I really liked the short game control when pushing and doing a soft flip. It was hard to believe I was using a short pip, the spin (to me) was similar to some inverted rubbers I'd used. Tonight I'm going to play at the club against other players who will spin the ball and attack me, so I will get an idea of how I like aspects of it like serve return and blocking. But I have to say, after this first session, I'm excited about the possibilities.

FH Rubber: Butterfly Tenergy 19 2.1
BH Rubber: Dr Neubauer ABS3 1.5

Post subject: Re: DMS Firestorm Soft
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2019, 22:01 
Super User

Blade: Yinhe V14 Pro
FH: Harder Chinese rubber
BH: Softer Chinese/ESN rubber
What sponge thickness are you using? Did you get a feeling of the rubber bottoming out on every shot?