OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 15:38

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 13 Aug 2018, 03:45 

My name is Don, and I'm a Table Tennis newbie in Central Florida (USA).

Most of the Blogs here are by seasoned veterans trying to perfect the nuances of their technique, or by gifted young people making the kind of rapid progress that's hard to believe. But not this one. This is the story of a 48-year-old out-of-shape schlub who has somehow become addicted to this glorious game. So if you need the simple confidence boost of knowing that someone, somewhere has less talent for this game than you, then this may be your blog :)

My story:
Almost 2 years ago my company bought a ping pong table, and a few of us started knocking the ball around at lunch. It was great fun, though I was outclassed by my more athletic coworkers. So in April 2017 I visited the local Table Tennis club to pick up a few tips. I had no idea of the world I was entering, or of the obsession that would soon take hold...

Here's a summary of my first year+ in under 4 minutes:

This seems as good a place as any to organize my video analysis and thoughts about what to do next to improve. To anyone that has made it this far, your tips and suggestions are most welcome, I need all the help I can get!

PostPosted: 13 Aug 2018, 04:43 
Super User

Blade: XVT Balsa Carbon 10mm all
FH: Xiom Sigma Pro 2 2.0
BH: Globe 979 OX
A lot of info here in one place. Read the intro then make your decision, well worth 5-10 minutes of your time.

Link .... North Little Rock Table Tennis Group timeline page on Facebook

https://m.facebook.com/NorthLittleRockT ... =bookmarks

Cpen SOS Wood / 4H 729 802-40 2.0 / BH GD Talon use righthanded shakehand grip