OOAK Table Tennis Forum

Net serve vs Edge serve
Page 1 of 1

Author:  RalphJ [ 11 Jul 2021, 03:15 ]
Post subject:  Net serve vs Edge serve

I never understood this. Maybe you can clarify.

If a serve hits the edge, it is legal & play continues but if a serve hits the net and otherwise legal, it is a let. Why is that ?

It is so annoying because it has happened to all of us when the receiver calls a net let on one of your best serves, especially at deuce.

I read somewhere that they just copied this over from tennis rules but to me it makes no sense in tennis either

Author:  iskandar taib [ 19 Jul 2021, 03:36 ]
Post subject:  Re: Net serve vs Edge serve

No idea why it got started but I'd observe that, with practice, you could produce net serves at will. And they'd result in a point for you most of the time, especially if you use it as a surprise. Whereas edge serves would be very, very difficult to produce at will.

What is "o5", by the way? :lol: Oh.. T05.. :lol: :lol: These are getting more and more cryptic.


Author:  keme [ 20 Jul 2021, 19:36 ]
Post subject:  Re: Net serve vs Edge serve

For the "tennis rule carryover":
In tennis, hitting the edge of a line will have little or no impact on bounce, and does not make any telltale/disturbing sound. Hitting the edge of the net will usually change the trajectory significantly, and be clearly audible.

To me, it does make perfect sense in tennis. It also "feels right" in table tennis, but probably more due to habit than the difference Iskandar submits. I reckon he is right, though.

Author:  iskandar taib [ 28 Jul 2021, 16:30 ]
Post subject:  Re: Net serve vs Edge serve

Apparently in volleyball (not the beach sort, the regular sort), net serves count.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 9:30 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group