OOAK Table Tennis Forum


A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 20 Feb 2020, 02:49


Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 333 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 23  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 18:24 
Offline
Count Darkula
Count Darkula
User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2007, 15:07
Posts: 17491
Location: Dark side of Australia!!
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 290 times
Blade: Bty Gergely T5000
FH: TSP Regalis Blue Max
BH: Tibhar Grass Dtecs
metal monkey wrote:
RebornTTEvnglist wrote:
Good thread Monkey. We've had lots of rule discussions in the past of course, but good to have a general one that can be a good reference and question place. I wonder if a clearer title might help? Something straight-forward like "Rules..Questions and Answers" or the like?


Hey Reb and rest of you guys thanks, for the support you have shown even in this short period in time.

Reb I will try to clear the title up, but I really didn't want to just involve this to the rule aspect of things, but in general everything concerned about tt....

such as the question I posted...Is using long pimples cheating???

Heheh Silver was quick too answer. :D

monkey


***title edited


Don't get me wrong mate, I loved the title. Very catchy, but the content wasn't what I expected. I thought we would be talking about things people had heard of being done in TT but hadn't actually seen You know, like someone hitting the ball back from 12 feet back facing away from the table between their legs for a clear winner. :shock: :D

_________________
I'm always in the dark, but the Dark sheds lights upon everything!! :twisted: Beauty is only pimple deep! Beauty is in the eye of the pipholder!
S/U 1: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Andro Rasant 2.1 . BH Red Tibhar Grass Dtecs
S/U 2: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Hexer+ 2.1 . BH Red GD Talon
S/U 3: Blade: Bty Gergely . No rubbers...thinking of adding Red Dtecs and Black Rasant
Aussie Table Tennis Shop / Aussie Table Tennis Facebook Page / Equipment Review Index / Read my Reb Report Blog: click here.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 18:24 
Offline
Do you feel lucky (young) punk?
Do you feel lucky (young) punk?
User avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2007, 12:57
Posts: 5587
Location: USA
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 177 times
Blade: Juic Hinoki One Ply
FH: Tibhar 5Q
BH: Scandal
When a ball goes around the net, if it jumps up at all, we consider it to have hit the top. If it goes down, it hit the side. Thats how we do it. Might not be correct though. :D

_________________
Shakehand, left handed.
Blade, Yinhe, W-1
Forhand, H-3 National
Backhand, Sriver FX Max


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 18:26 
Offline
Count Darkula
Count Darkula
User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2007, 15:07
Posts: 17491
Location: Dark side of Australia!!
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 290 times
Blade: Bty Gergely T5000
FH: TSP Regalis Blue Max
BH: Tibhar Grass Dtecs
hookshot wrote:
When a ball goes around the net, if it jumps up at all, we consider it to have hit the top. If it goes down, it hit the side. Thats how we do it. Might not be correct though. :D
I think that sounds about right Hookshot! :wink:

_________________
I'm always in the dark, but the Dark sheds lights upon everything!! :twisted: Beauty is only pimple deep! Beauty is in the eye of the pipholder!
S/U 1: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Andro Rasant 2.1 . BH Red Tibhar Grass Dtecs
S/U 2: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Hexer+ 2.1 . BH Red GD Talon
S/U 3: Blade: Bty Gergely . No rubbers...thinking of adding Red Dtecs and Black Rasant
Aussie Table Tennis Shop / Aussie Table Tennis Facebook Page / Equipment Review Index / Read my Reb Report Blog: click here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 18:27 
Offline
Super User

Joined: 26 Jan 2007, 23:48
Posts: 368
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
hookshot wrote:
When a ball goes around the net, if it jumps up at all, we consider it to have hit the top. If it goes down, it hit the side. Thats how we do it. Might not be correct though. :D


It's a bit of a nonsense but it's about as accurate and as fair as we can be - everyone will get some both in and against their favour.

_________________
First things first, but not neccessarily in that order.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 18:31 
Offline
I am Legend
I am Legend
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 18:21
Posts: 5996
Location: Queensland
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 105 times
We normally say if it's hit from off the side of the table and hits the closer edge (ie not back or far edge), it's the side of the table.

We used to do it based on how the ball bounces. If it bounces up, it's top. Had a few arguments with this system.

_________________
Chasse Patate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 18:50 
Offline
Devil may cry
Devil may cry
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jul 2007, 10:57
Posts: 4423
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times
Here is a few more that I just remembered, while playing.

* The ball is about to land out of the table and you decide to catch it so you don't have to pick it up off the floor. Your opponent complains and says that it was going to land before it landed.... but you honestly thought it was going out????

* Calling Let during a point, when there is no one umpiring since perhaps a ball has come pass or someone walks close to the table area??? (we have probably experience this a few times before, when we probably thought it was un called for). :x

* Leading the set 7-0, your opponent hasn't scored, the game/set is awarded to the one winning????

* Talking during the rally???? eg: Comments/ borking/ screaming????? Is it really called for?

* playing with shoes that have black soles???? People have told me before that it's not allowedand often send the person home :x

* Just because someone brings in an old sheet of frictionless pimples or speedglue, it makes it legal since it's stamped with the ITTF stamp of approval???? I have met a few....... "not everyone that plays TT goes on the forums, so they are not up to date"


Metal Monkey

_________________
the re-evolution of war
Bty Gergely Palio Macro Era 42.5 Max DHS H2 Max


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 19:11 
Offline
Count Darkula
Count Darkula
User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2007, 15:07
Posts: 17491
Location: Dark side of Australia!!
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 290 times
Blade: Bty Gergely T5000
FH: TSP Regalis Blue Max
BH: Tibhar Grass Dtecs
metal monkey wrote:
Here is a few more that I just remembered, while playing.

* The ball is about to land out of the table and you decide to catch it so you don't have to pick it up off the floor. Your opponent complains and says that it was going to land before it landed.... but you honestly thought it was going out????

Controversial and I think you have to play a let if you think it was beyond table boundary and they don't, unless you have an ump that calls it.

* Calling Let during a point, when there is no one umpiring since perhaps a ball has come pass or someone walks close to the table area??? (we have probably experience this a few times before, when we probably thought it was un called for). :x

Tricky. Should be a let but if someone does it often to stop losing points then just walk away from the game if they won't stop. Assuming if there is no ump its not comp.

* Leading the set 7-0, your opponent hasn't scored, the game/set is awarded to the one winning????

No game should continue to 11. I do seem to recall some reference to this in the rules, but I can't recall precisely. Just know game always contniues at my club.

* Talking during the rally???? eg: Comments/ borking/ screaming????? Is it really called for?

Not called for, not good decorum, not against the rules, but if its annoying you can call let. And I would ask opponent to stop and ump should back you up.

* playing with shoes that have black soles???? People have told me before that it's not allowedand often send the person home :x

Some facilities mark the floor from black soles, but I haven't known it to be an issue for years. Was always an issue on Squash courts. I think black soles are often also non-marking these days. If you can prove they are non-marking I don't think they can stop you playing.

* Just because someone brings in an old sheet of frictionless pimples or speedglue, it makes it legal since it's stamped with the ITTF stamp of approval???? I have met a few....... "not everyone that plays TT goes on the forums, so they are not up to date"

Hard to convince people of this I am sure. Club ref should be up to date on what's legal, and clubs choice on what to allow and what not. Soif its comp see the ref, if its not comp, no issue, it can be played with IMO.

Metal Monkey

_________________
I'm always in the dark, but the Dark sheds lights upon everything!! :twisted: Beauty is only pimple deep! Beauty is in the eye of the pipholder!
S/U 1: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Andro Rasant 2.1 . BH Red Tibhar Grass Dtecs
S/U 2: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Hexer+ 2.1 . BH Red GD Talon
S/U 3: Blade: Bty Gergely . No rubbers...thinking of adding Red Dtecs and Black Rasant
Aussie Table Tennis Shop / Aussie Table Tennis Facebook Page / Equipment Review Index / Read my Reb Report Blog: click here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 19:45 
Offline
Heavy Looper
User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2007, 00:25
Posts: 643
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Some other rules which people get confused on (I know the answers of course, but I will allow some smart alec the chance to clear them up for everyone else):

a) Changing your bat in the middle of the game - can you?

b) You throw the ball up to serve and it hits something up there before you let the ball drop to the floor without swinging your bat at the ball. Who's point?

c You are struggling to reach a ball and as you only have a cheap premade bat you decide to throw it at the ball and it mysteriously returns it, who's point is it? (seen it done once)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 19:54 
Offline
Super Looper
Super Looper
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2008, 07:14
Posts: 1376
Location: Melbourne
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times
I have one,

Question* In the match i was 2 sets up guy serves i loop back and win the point he smashes his bat on the floor and brakes handle off- can he go and get another bat or I win the mach out right?

_________________
Blade:
F/H:
B/H:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 20:00 
Offline
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 32538
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1996 times
Been thanked: 1300 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dr N Troublemaker OX
This thread made me look at the rules again, and I came accross this rule which I honestly did not remember reading before:

Quote:
2.06.06 It is the responsibility of the player to serve so that the umpire or the assistant umpire can see that he complies with the requirements for a good service.


So if you do a pendulum serve with your back turned to the ump, it could be a perfectly legal serve, but can be called a let...

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 20:08 
Offline
Dark Knight
Dark Knight
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2006, 12:34
Posts: 32538
Location: Adelaide, AU
Has thanked: 1996 times
Been thanked: 1300 times
Blade: Trinity Carbon
FH: Victas VS > 401
BH: Dr N Troublemaker OX
You're right!

I think very few are even aware of this though... I remember this question being asked by a player to a international umpire... He gave me a puzzled look, as if to say "do you have any idea?", and we both came to the (incorrect) conclusion that ONLY the player needed to have full view of the ball during contact... :wink: That's why I was so surpirsed to read this rule... :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
OOAK Table Tennis Shop | Re-Impact Blades | Butterfly Table Tennis bats
Setup1: Re-Impact Smart, Viper OX, Victas VS 401 Setup2: Re-Impact Barath, Dtecs OX, TSP Triple Spin Chop 1.0mm Setup3: Re-Impact Dark Knight, Hellfire OX, 999 Turbo
Recent Articles: Butterfly Tenergy Alternatives | Tenergy Rubbers Compared | Re-Impact User Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 20:09 
Offline
Heavy Looper
User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2007, 00:25
Posts: 643
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
speedplay wrote:
Juan King Carlos wrote:
Some other rules which people get confused on (I know the answers of course, but I will allow some smart alec the chance to clear them up for everyone else):

a) Changing your bat in the middle of the game - can you?


Unless you break your bat in an accident, then no, you are not allowed to switch bat.



Do you know which rule or regulation says that? I found this one.

2.04.08 - At the start of a match and whenever he changes his racket during a match a player shall show his opponent and the umpire the racket he is about to use and shall allow them to examine it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 20:10 
Offline
Super Looper
Super Looper
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2008, 07:14
Posts: 1376
Location: Melbourne
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times
speedplay wrote:
purger wrote:
I have one,

Question* In the match i was 2 sets up guy serves i loop back and win the point he smashes his bat on the floor and brakes handle off- can he go and get another bat or I win the mach out right?


Since he intentionally smashed his bat, it's your game for the taking. Unless he breaks of the handle and tries to continue to play with the blade in that shape, then he should be fine, as I see it.


Well that guy is club president and he cheat me up beacuse he said that he is alowed to get his other bat and guess wat I lost in 5 sets.
When he smashed his bat resoult in 3 set was 8-2 my way and I lost it was something wierd in second bat. :twisted:

_________________
Blade:
F/H:
B/H:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 20:15 
Offline
Count Darkula
Count Darkula
User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2007, 15:07
Posts: 17491
Location: Dark side of Australia!!
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 290 times
Blade: Bty Gergely T5000
FH: TSP Regalis Blue Max
BH: Tibhar Grass Dtecs
purger wrote:
I have one,

Question* In the match i was 2 sets up guy serves i loop back and win the point he smashes his bat on the floor and brakes handle off- can he go and get another bat or I win the mach out right?


Purge, its outright to you unless he can prove it was an accident. Only accidental breakage allow bat replacement during a match. And it doesn't sound like an accident to me. And he also isn't allowed to play with a broken bat as its now illegal.

Slippery, bumping/touching table is fine as long as it doesn't move position. Touching with free hand is only illegal thing. If a player can jump up on the table without touching with free hand to get a shot, it is legal.

_________________
I'm always in the dark, but the Dark sheds lights upon everything!! :twisted: Beauty is only pimple deep! Beauty is in the eye of the pipholder!
S/U 1: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Andro Rasant 2.1 . BH Red Tibhar Grass Dtecs
S/U 2: Blade: Bty Gergely . FH Black Hexer+ 2.1 . BH Red GD Talon
S/U 3: Blade: Bty Gergely . No rubbers...thinking of adding Red Dtecs and Black Rasant
Aussie Table Tennis Shop / Aussie Table Tennis Facebook Page / Equipment Review Index / Read my Reb Report Blog: click here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Nov 2008, 20:18 
Offline
Super Looper
Super Looper
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2008, 07:14
Posts: 1376
Location: Melbourne
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times
RebornTTEvnglist wrote:
purger wrote:
I have one,

Question* In the match i was 2 sets up guy serves i loop back and win the point he smashes his bat on the floor and brakes handle off- can he go and get another bat or I win the mach out right?


Purge, its outright to you unless he can prove it was an accident. Only accidental breakage allow bat replacement during a match. And it doesn't sound like an accident to me. And he also isn't allowed to play with a broken bat as its now illegal.

Slippery, bumping/touching table is fine as long as it doesn't move position. Touching with free hand is only illegal thing. If a player can jump up on the table without touching with free hand to get a shot, it is legal.


So if needed you can jump on table and hit hte winer and win point thats exiting. I will have to try that out boy we are going to have an argument LOL :D

_________________
Blade:
F/H:
B/H:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 333 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 23  Next


Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fastmover, MSN [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2018 OOAK Table Tennis Forum. The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group