OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 17:38

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 28 Jul 2020, 23:44 

Blade: Sanwei Su
FH: TSP Spectol
BH: Gewo Proton Neo 325
Hello there,

I know there is a lot of topics already about this, but as every human is different, so this question and the answers could be as well.

My story:

My name is Arnie, I started playing Table Tennis in about a year. You will laugh but my motivation came from the famous animation series "Table Tennis the Animation".
After I saw this masterpiece, I really wanted to start learning table tennis, especially play like Peco (the hero of the story), who is a penhold hitter in the story with SP on the forehand and inverted on the backhand side. My first experience with a coach was rather unpleasant, I told him that I would like to learn this style, he agreed to teach me, but all the session were about him nagging me to change to shakehand inverted. After a 4-5 session, I eventually left him and looked for another, who could accept my unusual request. Luckily I found a really good coach(rated in the top 30 in my country) he is a very nice and super good coach and he never questioned my choice of style and equipment.

But now after a year that I know a little bit more about TT, I feel like the short pips are harder and less forgiving to play than inverted.
If I miss the timing, or my racket angle is not proper, the ball just flies away from the table. With inverted it feels like I have much more time to react, I can stay further from the table and brush the ball back even if it's dropping down already.