OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 22:45

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 15 Mar 2023, 02:30 

Blade: I'm going to build one!
Hello all

My name is Harry Jones. I am a 6th form student from a private school in Northern Ireland and I am currently taking an Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) which requires me to obtain primary and secondary research as to a chosen topic in order to compile a final report of findings.

I have chosen to research what makes a great table tennis paddle, and I was just wondering if any of you would be able to provide me with any expert primary advice as to this topic. Below I have attached the areas/questions I am currently researching. I would be very grateful if there is any of these you would be able to provide some knowledge on.

I have already obtained a few pieces useful information, mainly on the woods from this forum (viewtopic.php?f=43&t=12687) but I have had loads of difficulty trying to get anything out of manufacturers or the ITTF. Would appreciate any help available thanks heaps. ;)

Regulations
- How do current regulations affect paddle construction?
Materials
- What different woods are used in paddle construction and how does quality, type and properties of woods used affect the paddle's performance and construction?
- What sponges and rubbers are used?
- How are sponges and rubbers produced, and how does this affect paddle performance?

Processes
- What methods and materials are used to combine the various components into a cohesive pro-level paddle?
- Does the quality of the paddle make it any easier or harder to upgrade

Look forward to hearing from you all and many thanks for your help. :angel:

PS: please let me know if this doesn't make sense