OOAK Table Tennis Forum


A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 08 Dec 2019, 20:00


Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 333 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2018, 10:44 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1502
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 348 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Tenergy 05H max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
In doubles, how can an umpire call correctly a wrong side serve when he cannot see if the ball landed on the line or not?

This is almost always a point of argument when the server says it's in and both opponents says it's not.


If the umpire is doing their job, they should be standing up to umpire doubles, as this gives a lot better view of the doubles line. If it is another player being the "umpire" then they often won't though. Quite often the server's partner will acknowledge that a serve is the wrong side. What to do if both sides are super competitive (win at all costs)? If there is strong disagreement the umpire may end up calling a let - this is not a satisfactory outcome for the truthful player though.

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 


Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 21 Mar 2019, 09:48 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Blade: BTY Gergely
FH: Victas >15 Limber
BH: Stiga Mantra S
Why can't anyone or specifically inverted rubber users/players change bats between sets or during the set?

(Aside from the rule), what's the logic behind it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Mar 2019, 10:00 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Blade: BTY Gergely
FH: Victas >15 Limber
BH: Stiga Mantra S
What's the actual rule when a return with a bat occurs but dropped after hitting before the ball lands on the other side? :angel: The distraction leads you to watch the cause of the noise from the dropped bat and makes you lose focus on returning the ball. If the return from the other player is successful, it's a no-brainer as the other dropped bat player has no bat to use.

If you're saying that the dropped bat is of no-consequence to the point, then why is putting the non-bat hand on the table after a hit considered a violation. It may also be of no consequence to the hit. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Mar 2019, 10:49 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1502
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 348 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Tenergy 05H max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
What's the actual rule when a return with a bat occurs but dropped after hitting before the ball lands on the other side? :angel: The distraction leads you to watch the cause of the noise from the dropped bat and makes you lose focus on returning the ball. If the return from the other player is successful, it's a no-brainer as the other dropped bat player has no bat to use.

If you're saying that the dropped bat is of no-consequence to the point, then why is putting the non-bat hand on the table after a hit considered a violation. It may also be of no consequence to the hit. 8)


The rule about the bat being in the hand is only saying that the hit is valid only if at the point of contact the bat is being held in the hand.

The rule about putting the non-bat or free hand on the table is while the point is still "live". It is possible for the opponent to make a correct return unless:
the ball bounces a 2nd time on the table
the ball encounters something that is not the table (the floor, the wall, the ceiling, the player etc)
the ball goes outside of the playing area (over the barriers if you have barriers)


Here are the definitions from the ITTF web site, 2018 ITTF Handbook.:
2.5.7 A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, held in the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist.
...
2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point
...
2.10.1.2 if an opponent fails to make a correct return;
...
2.10.1.11 if an opponent's free hand touches the playing surface;

HTH.

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Mar 2019, 14:42 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Blade: BTY Gergely
FH: Victas >15 Limber
BH: Stiga Mantra S
Thanks! I'm really confused with distractions or reasons for let or automatic point. Why does the umpire call for silence? (For players to focus/concentration)

In tennis if anything falls during play (hat/headband/ball from the pocket), that's an automatic violation and point for the other player.


Last edited by jazzcomp on 28 Mar 2019, 15:36, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Mar 2019, 15:01 
Offline
Super User

Joined: 26 Jun 2018, 14:51
Posts: 398
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 61 times
Is there a specific rule saying you can only use 1 racket? Ie can dual wield and play two-sided forehand? :rofl:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16 May 2019, 22:50 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Blade: BTY Gergely
FH: Victas >15 Limber
BH: Stiga Mantra S
Someone complained about my dribbling before a serve. :swear: Is there a rule on that?

Another player complained about swinging the racket before a toss/serve. Again, is there a rule on that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 May 2019, 07:43 
Offline
Full member

Joined: 18 Apr 2019, 20:12
Posts: 91
Location: IJsselstein (Netherlands)
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Blade: Andor Ligna ALL+
FH: DHS Hurricane 8 soft max
BH: Tibhar Grass D.Tecs 0.6
There nothing about both as long as you uphold the other rules.

As long as you throw the ball up from the correct place and your opponent can see the ball all thru the serve it's legal.

I think I have seen the drible before .. doens't hugo do that?
And i've seen service where the arm made some kind helicopter swing .... looks weird but it's legal.

_________________
Regards Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 May 2019, 07:49 
Offline
Full member

Joined: 18 Apr 2019, 20:12
Posts: 91
Location: IJsselstein (Netherlands)
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Blade: Andor Ligna ALL+
FH: DHS Hurricane 8 soft max
BH: Tibhar Grass D.Tecs 0.6
I checked hugo's match versus Ma long and he wipes a few times with his blade before serving.

_________________
Regards Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 May 2019, 09:22 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Blade: BTY Gergely
FH: Victas >15 Limber
BH: Stiga Mantra S
Thanks, the way I dribble is against my bat so I'm tossing the ball towards the bat. But when I serve I toss high/upwards and not towards my bat. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 May 2019, 11:35 
Offline
Bytes worse than his Bark
Bytes worse than his Bark
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 12:25
Posts: 1502
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 348 times
Blade: OldNittaku Carbon
FH: Tenergy 05H max
BH: Tenergy 05 max
jazzcomp wrote:
Quote:
Thanks, the way I dribble is against my bat so I'm tossing the ball towards the bat. But when I serve I toss high/upwards and not towards my bat.


As long as your ball toss for "dribbling" is quite distinct from your ball toss for serving then it should be OK. Also you may want to make sure you don't spend too much time "dribbling" as you may end up making play less than continuous (and with a wet floor :) ).

_________________
Retriever (sometimes golden, but often leaden)
Moderator, Inverted Retriever Technique sub-forum - http://ooakforum.com/viewforum.php?f=74


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18 May 2019, 04:33 
Offline
Goes to 11
Goes to 11
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2014, 20:27
Posts: 8721
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1057 times
"Dribbling"? On your bat??? :lol: (Like getting saliva on it? :lol: :lol: :lol: )

Iskandar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18 May 2019, 21:27 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Blade: BTY Gergely
FH: Victas >15 Limber
BH: Stiga Mantra S
I guess there's no basketball players here :rofl: :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18 May 2019, 22:52 
Offline
New Member

Joined: 18 Jul 2017, 16:04
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Blade: BTY Gergely
FH: Victas >15 Limber
BH: Stiga Mantra S
How come pimple players don't want to use their pimples during warmup?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 May 2019, 00:24 
Offline
OOAK Super User
OOAK Super User
User avatar

Joined: 12 Nov 2009, 06:17
Posts: 1006
Location: Yorkshire
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 61 times
Blade: Tsp Black Balsa 3.0
FH: t05 1.7boosted
BH: 388d ox
Warm up usually consists of topspin exchange which wouldn't go well with the ox pips,I can exchange better with the smooth rubber for this

_________________
Modified Yin-He T2 Tenergy 05 fx 1.9/388d ox


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 333 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next


Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!



All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2018 OOAK Table Tennis Forum. The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group