OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 28 Apr 2024, 15:19

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2014, 05:14 

hi all!, i'm new here, a complete beginner compared to you pros, and not so good with english so please try to understand me... :|

I,m a 15 yr old high school student and a tt player. i've been playing ping pong since i was 9-10 yrs old and i got used to rbp grip style. and i do know how to use rbp.

I've been using a cheap butterfly racket back then, but a year ago i finally got a penhold racket that my mom bought for me online with these rubbers. memo 2 | hurricane 3. aaand a plain dhs penhold blade. (dhs x4006?) which i really like, because it fit in my hand very good and have that very tacky feel that was new for me.
Now i manage to beat some pro-ish players in the school intramurals that got me selected to play outside school for a competition for the first time, which we(the school team) managed to win so we got advanced to the next competition. its going to be my first time playing against experienced players, so i did some research, and i realize how newb i am.

questions:
which rubber should i use for the forehand and backhand?
is my racket good enough?
my hands get very sweaty while playing which make my grip slippery, what can i do about this?
most players kept telling me that my grip style is bad and should switch to the shakehand grip, which i don't know how to play. so it really bad? and should i switch?
the rubber is ripping off the foam, what alternative glue can i use to fix it?

Don't want to see this advertisement? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2014, 19:00 
Super User