OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 26 Apr 2024, 23:24

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

Post subject: Complete Newbie!
PostPosted: 31 Jan 2022, 04:40 
LP Collector
LP Collector

Blade: Yaska Sweden Classic
FH: 802 OX
BH: DHS C8 OX
Hello gang,

I'm a complete newbie to jpen. As a kid I played cpen, but when I started again as an adult about ten years ago, I played shakehand. I've recently been rebooting my attitude to table tennis - I had started no longer having fun, so one of the things I did this week was to buy a cheap jpen and have a mess around with it.

I've played for a few days with my son (who is a decent recreational player) and then this afternoon went to my local club where they have a kind of social top table session, and I played there - giving away a handicap of 2-4 points in every match.

I had a whale of a time, and while I only won a few, I felt I was learning a lot, and when I played a few games with my regular setup, it wasn't as fun by far.

I'm mostly not playing competitively any more - just for exercise and enjoyment, so I think I will stick with jpen for a while.

Main question:

What approaches are there for a fast long serve into BH? With reverse rubber on the bh of a s/h, I can attack hard. Or with LP on the bh I can chop or bump. With jpen BH it seems like my two options are a block or a chop. How do you stop this being a liability?

Similarly, the better players played a lot into my BH. I am used to this as a LP player, but I can twiddle and attack, or depending on time play a fh from bh. I can still do the latter (actually even better), but the lack of a BH attack again feels like a liability.