OOAK Table Tennis Forum

A truly International Table Tennis Community for both Defensive and Offensive styles!
OOAK Forum Links About OOAK Table Tennis Forum OOAK Forum Memory
It is currently 26 Apr 2024, 23:07

Don't want to see any advertising? Become a member and login, and you'll never see an ad again!

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2020, 23:21 

I've been playing TT for about 7 years now, have used inverted rubbers on both sides. I'm not a very good player, I can topspin on both sides with serving and serve returns being my weakest parts of my limited game.

I injured my knee 5 months back playing football and I have pain while in my right knee while climbing stairs, I rested during these Covid lockdown hoping the knee pain would go away/heal itself and didn't do any sports apart from walking everyday. Now my knee pain is gone and I don't find any discomfort climbing stairs or doing ordinary stuff. But after resuming playing TT and bending my knee to do forehand topspin, the pain has come back. It's something I have to talk to a physical therapist and I'm doing that parallel y.

So I started thinking if I could stay close to the table and not bend down so much I could reduce strain on my knee, will changing to short pips help me with this, I know that short pips is little bit useless when moving away from the table and I hate chopping anyways, so is this something I can try out or will using short pips is not much different from using inverted rubbers?

PostPosted: 30 Oct 2020, 03:53 
Goes to 11
Goes to 11